Sun Sentinel
European Golf Tour
PGA European - UBS Hong Kong Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, December 1st through Sunday, December 4th
SITE: Hong Kong Golf Club (Eden and New Courses), Fanling, Hong Kong
COURSE ARCHITECT: Unknown - New Course (1931), Eden Course (1970)
PAR: 70
YARDAGE: 6,700
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 468 Yds10 - Par 4 367 Yds
2 - Par 3 149 Yds11 - Par 4 466 Yds
3 - Par 5 551 Yds12 - Par 3 144 Yds
4 - Par 4 288 Yds13 - Par 5 529 Yds
5 - Par 3 192 Yds14 - Par 4 395 Yds
6 - Par 4 436 Yds15 - Par 4 426 Yds
7 - Par 4 381 Yds16 - Par 4 411 Yds
8 - Par 3 188 Yds17 - Par 4 406 Yds
9 - Par 4 493 Yds18 - Par 4 410 Yds
34 3,146 Yds36 3,554 Yds
Annual:  53rd (13th as a co-sanctioned event)
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 12-4 a.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Ian Poulter
Runner-Up:  Simon Dyson, Matteo Manassero
Tournament Record:  260 (Fredrik Jacobson, 2003)
54-Hole Record:  194 (Robert Karlsson, 2008; Gregory Bourdy, 2009)
36-Hole Record:  128 (Robert Karlsson, 2008)
Course Record:  61 (Henrik Bjornstad, 2002; Simon Yates, 2006)
Total Purse:  $2,750,000
Shares:  1st Place - $455,228; 2nd Place - $303,516; 3rd Place - $171,003
2010 Finish
Ian Poulter258Rory McIlroy262
Simon Dyson259Jamie Donaldson263
Matteo Manassero259Jeev Milkha Singh263
Anthony Kang260Gareth Maybin263
Graeme McDowell261Marcus Fraser264
Past UBS Hong Kong Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2010Ian Poulter (258) -- Simon Dyson, Matteo Manassero
2009Gregory Bourdy (261) -- Rory McIlroy
2008*Wen-tang Lin (265) -- Francesco Molinari, Rory McIlroy
2007Miguel Angel Jimenez (265) -- K.J. Choi, Robert Karlsson,
Thongchai Jaidee
2006Jose Manuel Lara (265) -- Juvic Pagunsan
2005Colin Montgomerie (271) -- K.J. Choi, James Kingston, Keng-Chi Lin,
Edward Loar, Thammanoon Srirot
2004Miguel Angel Jimenez (266) -- Padraig Harrington, James Kingston
2003Padraig Harrington (269) -- Hennie Otto
2002Fredrik Jacobson (260) -- Jorge Berendt, Henrik Nystrom
2001Jose Maria Olazabal (262) -- Henrik Bjornstad
2000Simon Dyson (263) -- Kim Felton, John Kernohan, Charlie Wi
1999Patrik Sjoland (273) -- Ian Woosnam
1998Kang Wook-soon
1997Frank Nobilo
1996Rodrigo Cuello
1995Gary Webb
1994David Frost
1993Brian Watts
1992Tom Watson
1991Bernhard Langer
1990Ken Green
1989Brian Claar
1988Hsieh Chin-sheng
1987Ian Woosnam
1986Seichi Kanai
1985Mark Aebli
1984Bill Brask
1983Greg Norman
1982Kurt Cox
1981Chen Tse-ming
1980Kuo Chie-hsiung
1979Greg Norman
1978Hsieh Min-nan
1977Hsieh Yung-yo
1976Ho Ming-chung
1975Hsieh Yung-yo
1974Lu Liang-huan
1973Frank Phillips
1972Walter Godfrey
1971Orville Moody
1970Isao Katsumata
1969Teruo Sugihara
1968Randall Vines
1967Peter Thomson
1966Frank Phillips
1965Peter Thomson
1964Hsieh Yung-yo
1963Hsieh Yung-yo
1962Len Woodward
1961Kel Nagle
1960Peter Thomson
1959Lu Liang Huan
Note:Formerly called Perrier Hong Kong Open (1999), Omega Hong Kong Open

Top Contenders in the Field
Ian Poulter---------mc------------T-5Won
Matteo Manassero---------------------------T-2
Rory McIlroy------------------mcT-22nd6th
Jeev Milkha Singh---------------------T-11T-36T-7
Gregory Bourdy---------------11thmc81stWonT-11
Thongchai JaideeT-13T-48---T-39T-7T-3T-2T-19T-1115th
Y.E. Yang---T-61------------------T-29T-19
Wen-tang Lin------------------mcWonT-22T-25
Juvic Pagunsan---------------2ndT-50T-7053rdT-38
Colin Montgomerie------------WonT-19---T-15T-29T-47
Jose Manuel Lara---T-66------T-18WonmcT-29wdT-47
John Daly---------------------T-17---56th
Miguel A. Jimenez---------WonT-38T-6WonT-24T-18mc
Alvaro Quiros------------------mc---------
Padraig Harrington------WonT-2------------------
Jose M. OlazabalWonT-56T-10T-8------------------
Justin Rose------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Rory McIlroy
Darkhorse - James Morrison
Last Week's Pick to Win (Jaco Van Zyl) - Finished tied for 20th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jbe' Kruger) - Finished tied for 25th
Ian Poulter will attempt to do something at this event that no one has done in 47 years - win back-to-back titles. Poulter will try to join Hsieh Yung-yo as the only consecutive winners. Yung-yo, a four-time champion, posted back-to-back wins in 1963-64. Six of the top-50 players in the world are in the field - U.S. Open champion Rory McIlroy (2), Justin Rose (16), Poulter (25), Miguel Angel Jimenez (40), Y.E. Yang (42) and Alvaro Quiros (50).

This is the last tournament prior to next week's season-ending Dubai World Championship. World No. 1 Luke Donald leads the Race to Dubai by 1,026,130 euros over Martin Kaymer. McIlroy is third, 1,131,512 behind Donald. If McIlroy were to win this week, he would pull within 789,789 euros of Donald. He would then also have to win the Dubai World Championship next week to have a chance to win the Race to Dubai.

Co-sanctioned between the European Tour and the Asian Tour, the field will comprise a split of players from each, as well as players from the Hong Kong Golf Association with a starting field of 138. This event is the longest- running sports event in Hong Kong, dating back to 1959. Past champions read like a who's who of superstars, as Greg Norman, Peter Thomson, Ian Woosnam, Tom Watson, Bernhard Langer, Jose Maria Olazabal, Padraig Harrington, Jimenez and Colin Montgomerie are some of the past champions.

A fixture on the Asian golfing circuit, the tournament will be staged at the Hong Kong Golf Club for the 11th straight year on its Composite Course, a combination of the best holes from the club's Eden and New Courses. The highly-rated layout has some memorable holes, best of which is the par-four 18th that shoots over a hill off the tee and runs down to the green which is guarded by a lake. The tree-lined course is a traditional and very established layout that is enjoyable to both play and walk.

Last year, Poulter carded rounds of 67-60-64-67 to earn a hard-fought victory for his 10th European Tour title. Poulter finished at 22-under 258 and won by a single stroke over teenager Matteo Manassero and Simon Dyson. Preferred lies were used throughout the week, including the second round when Poulter fired a 60.

In 2008, Wen-tang Lin prevailed in a thrilling three-way playoff to claim his first European Tour win. The Chinese Taipei native tapped in a one-foot birdie putt on the second extra hole to knock off McIlroy for the victory. Francesco Molinari of Italy was ousted on the first playoff hole.

Jimenez fired rounds of 65-67-66-67 to win in 2007 for the second time. Jimenez came out on top despite a three-putt bogey at the last. He finished the championship at 15-under-par 265.

In 2006, Jose Manuel Lara and Juvic Pagunsan battled throughout the final round. The turning point came at the par-four 16th, where Lara made birdie and Pagunsan faltered to a bogey. Lara went on to par the final two holes for a one-under 69 to claim his first European Tour title at 15-under-par 265. He became the first player in tournament history to go wire-to-wire for the victory. Lara's final-round 69 was his worst of the week, as he fired 64-66-66 in the first three rounds.

The European Tour moves to Dubai next week for the season-ending Dubai World Championship at Jumeirah Golf Estates, where Robert Karlsson captured the tournament last year.

11/29 16:49:03 ET

As of November 29, 2011, at 04:49 PM ET