Sun Sentinel
Canadian Golf Tour
PGA TOUR CANADA - Times Colonist Island Savings Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, June 6th through Sunday, June 9th
SITE: Uplands Golf Club, Victoria, British Columbia
COURSE ARCHITECT: A. Victor Price, A. Vernon McCann (1922), Bill Robinson
         (re-design, 1980s), Graham Cooke, Wayne Carleton (1990s)
PAR: 70
YARDAGE: 6,420
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 433 Yds10 - Par 4 361 Yds
2 - Par 4 435 Yds11 - Par 3 171 Yds
3 - Par 4 382 Yds12 - Par 4 430 Yds
4 - Par 3 194 Yds13 - Par 4 288 Yds
5 - Par 4 403 Yds14 - Par 4 415 Yds
6 - Par 4 460 Yds15 - Par 5 476 Yds
7 - Par 5 513 Yds16 - Par 4 335 Yds
8 - Par 4 331 Yds17 - Par 3 185 Yds
9 - Par 3 202 Yds18 - Par 4 406 Yds
35 3,353 Yds35 3,067 Yds
Annual:  31st
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Andrew Roque
Runner-Up:  Cory Renfrew, Lucas Lee
Course Record:  61 (Roger Sloan, 2010; Andrew Roque, 2012)
Total Purse:  $150,000 (Canadian dollars)
Prize Breakdown:  1st Place - $24,000; 2nd - $14,400; 3rd - $9,000
2012 Finish
Andrew Roque266Matt Jager273
Cory Renfrew269Jeffrey Rangel274
Lucas Lee269Nick Taylor274
Derek Gillespie270Tyler Aldridge275
Scott Harrington273Three players at276
Past Times Colonist Island Savings Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Andrew Roque (266) -- Cory Renfrew, Lucas Lee
2011Jose de Jesus Rodriguez (267) -- Wes Homan
2010Brock Mackenzie (266) -- Aaron Goldberg, Adam Hadwin
2009Byron Smith (267) -- Jim Rutledge, Brady Johnson
2008*Daniel Im (268) -- James Lepp
2007Spencer Levin (277) -- Michael Walton, Jon Abbott
2006Mike Grob (269) -- Trevor Dodds, John Lieber
2005Craig Taylor (262) -- Jaime Gomez
2004David Hearn (273) -- James Lepp
2003Patrick Damron (269) -- Robert Hamilton, Richard Zokol
2002Scott Hend (263) -- Michael Harris, David Hearn, Rich Massey
2001Paul Devenport (271) -- Blair Piercy
2000Jason Bohn (266) -- Derek Gilchrist
1999Ken Duke (264) -- Ray Freeman
1998Jay Hobby
1997Rick Todd
1996Arden Knoll
1995Norm Jarvis
1994Matt Jackson
1993Brandt Jobe
1992Mike Colandro
1991Rick Todd
1990Steve Stricker
1989Kelly Gibson
1988Todd Erwin
1987Craig Parry
1986Bob Panasik
1985Jeff Sanders
1984Charles Bolling
1983Not Held
1982Not Held
1981Dave Barr

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Shell Payless Open, Victoria Open, Times Colonist Open.

Top Contenders in the Field
Andrew Roque------Won
Lucas Lee---T-31T-2
Cory Renfrew------T-2
Derek GillespieT-37---4th
Wes HeffernanT-17T-36T-13
James AllenbyT-4T-61T-16
Jae Woo ImT-57T-5T-21
Alan McLean---T-26T-27
Wes Homan---2ndT-35
Andy MatthewsmcT-5T-35
Chris Killmer---T-31T-35
John EllisT-11T-14T-47
Clint RiceT-9T-41T-59
Brock MackenzieWonT-5mc
David DragooT-42mcmc
J.d.J. RodriguezT-30Won---
Michael Gligic---------
Eugene Wong---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Eugene Wong
Darkhorse - David Dragoo
Last Week's Pick to Win - September 6-9 (Joe Panzeri) - Finished tied for 13th
Last Week's Darkhorse - September 6-9 (Cody Slover) - Did not play
The 2013 PGA Tour Canada season gets under way in British Columbia this week with the Times Colonist Island Savings Open at Uplands Golf Club. Eight of the top-10 players from the 2012 money list are in the field. Matt Hill, the 2012 money winner, is not in the field as he is playing on the Tour this season. This week's field includes 79 Americans, 56 Canadians and players from 17 other countries.

This is the first year that the PGA Tour has assumed leadership of the former Canadian Tour, creating PGA Tour Canada. There will be a series of tournaments to be played across Canada each summer with players competing in a season-long race for five Tour cards. The top-5 players on the Order of Merit will graduate to the Tour in 2014. The top money winner will receive fully exempt status for 2014, with players finishing second to fifth earning highly placed status. Players finishing sixth through 10th will receive an exemption into the final stage of Tour Q-School, while players finishing 11th to 20th will be exempt into the second stage.

This is the 13th time in tournament history that the event will be played at Uplands Golf Club. This tournament is the longest running Canadian Tour event, having been held annually since 1984.

Last year, Andrew Roque fired a 9-under 61 in the final round to rally and win. Roque finished at 14-under-par 266 to win by three strokes over Cory Renfrew and Lucas Lee. The 23-year-old Roque caught fire down the stretch. He chipped in for birdie on the 12th and followed with birdies on 13 and 14. At the 15th, Roque rolled in a 10-footer for his fourth straight birdie. Roque was not finished, as he also birdied the final three holes to make it seven consecutive birdies to close out the final round.

In 2011, Jose de Jesus Rodriguez carded rounds of 70-67-64-66 to earn a 2- stroke win over Wes Homan. Rodriguez ended at 13-under-par 267. It was his second straight win and second of his career.

Brock Mackenzie birdied the 18th hole in the final round to shoot a 4-under 66 in 2010 and capture his first PGA Tour Canada win. Mackenzie finished at 14- under 266 to edge past Canadian Adam Hadwin and fellow American Aaron Goldberg by a shot.

In 2008, Daniel Im bogeyed the first playoff hole, but it was enough to defeat James Lepp and win the title. Lepp hit the clubhouse with his second shot in the playoff and landed out of bounds. That opened the door for Im, who was struggling himself on the hole. Im got in with a bogey and Lepp could not top that, giving Im his second win of 2008.

Spencer Levin fired a second-round 65 in 2007 and finished at 11-under-par 277 for his second straight title. Levin won the Iberostar Riviera Maya Open in his previous start. Levin is now on the PGA Tour and finished 68th on the 2012 PGA Tour money list with over $1.2 million in earnings.

In 2006, Mike Grob shot a 3-under 67 in the final round to win the title by one shot. Grob, the PGA Tour Canada's all-time money leader, finished four rounds at 11-under-par 269.

Canadian Rick Todd is the only two-time winner. PGA Tour players who have won this event are: Steve Stricker, Ken Duke, Craig Parry, Kelly Gibson, Jason Bohn, Brandt Jobe, Levin and Champions Tour player Dave Barr.

The PGA Tour Canada travels to Calgary, Alberta in two weeks for the ATB Financial Classic, where Michael Gligic captured the 2012 title.

06/04 16:07:25 ET

As of June 4, 2013, at 04:07 PM ET