Sun Sentinel
Football Bowl Subdivision
WEEKLY SCHEDULE
12345
678910
1112131415
161718  

Valparaiso to play 12 games for first time

Valparaiso, IN (SportsNetwork.com) - Dave Cecchini's first season as Valparaiso football coach will feature the Crusaders' first 12-game regular- season schedule.

The Pioneer Football League program released the schedule on Thursday, announcing six home games at Brown Field and six road games.

Valpo will kick off the season on Aug. 28 at Western Illinois from the Missouri Valley Football Conference.

The Crusaders' will play two sub-Division I opponents at home, Saint Joseph's (Ind.) in a 66th all-time meeting Sept. 6 and Missouri Baptist on Homecoming Day Oct. 11.

Within their PFL schedule, the Crusaders will host Marist (Oct. 4), Drake (Oct. 18), Butler (Nov. 8) and Davidson (Nov. 22).

Valpo's other road games are against William Jewell, another sub-Division I opponent, Sept. 20 as well as Campbell (Sept. 27), Morehead State (Oct. 25), Dayton (Nov. 1) and San Diego (Nov. 15) in PFL action.

Cecchini hopes to raise a Valpo program near the bottom of the FCS ranks. The non-scholarship Crusaders are a combined 4-51 over the past five seasons, including 1-10 last year.

2014 Valparaiso Football Schedule

All Times ET

Thursday, Aug. 28, at Western Illinois, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 6, Saint Joseph's (Ind.), 8 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 20, at William Jewell, TBA

Saturday, Sept. 27, at Campbell*, 1 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 4, Marist*, 2 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 11, Missouri Baptist (Homecoming), 2 p.m.

Saturday, Oct 18, Drake*, 2 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 25, at Morehead State*, 1 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 1, at Dayton*, 1 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 8, Butler*, 2 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 15, at San Diego*, TBA

Saturday, Nov. 22, Davidson*, 2 p.m.

* - Pioneer Football League game

01/30 15:22:42 ET