Football Bowl Subdivision
NCAA Game Summary - Kent State at Temple

(Saturday, November 21st)

Final Score: Temple 47, Kent State 13

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Matt Brown carried the ball 18 times for 156 yards and two touchdowns to lead the Temple Owls to a 47-10 win over the Kent State Golden Flashes in a Mid-American Conference showdown at Lincoln Financial Field.

Chester Stewart orchestrated the Temple (9-2, 7-0 MAC) offense, completing 6- of-16 pass attempts for 124 yards and a touchdown.

The Golden Flashes (5-6,4-3) were paced by Spencer Keith, who completed 18- of-31 passes for 232 yards and a touchdown.

KSU scored the only points of the first quarter, with a 21-yard field goal by Freddy Cortez.

The Owls took the lead, early in the second quarter, when Stewart hooked up with Evan Rodriguez for a 10-yard touchdown. However, the point after attempts was blocked giving the Owls a 6-3 lead.

The Golden Flashes regained the lead, midway through the second quarter, with a six-yard pass from Keith to Kendrick Pressley.

Temple drew closer in the closing minute of the first half, with a 24-yard field goal by Brandon McManus, to head into the break trailing 10-9.

The Owls dominated the second half, outscoring the Golden Flashes 38-3 in the final two quarters. McManus gave the Owls the lead early in the third quarter with a 28-yard field goal.

Temple got right back on the board with a 72-yard touchdown run from Brown, to give his team a 19-10 lead.

The Temple defense got involved minutes later, as Kee-ayre Griffin returned an interception 36 yards for a score.

The Owls made it a 33-10 contest in the final, minutes of the third quarter with a one-yard run by Brown.

Temple added to its lead early in the fourth quarter with a 52-yard punt return by Delano Green.

Green put his team back on the board minutes later with a 50-yard touchdown run to make it a 47-10 contest.

Cortez added a meaningless 46-yard field goal late in the game, allowing Temple to win 47-13.

With the win Temple set a new school record for consecutive wins with nine.

11/21 18:31:24 ET