PGA Tour
PGA - Reno-Tahoe Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, August 2nd through Sunday, August 5th
SITE: Montreux Golf & Country Club, Reno, Nevada
COURSE ARCHITECT: Jack Nicklaus (1997)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,472
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 494 Yds10 - Par 4 413 Yds
2 - Par 5 584 Yds11 - Par 3 171 Yds
3 - Par 3 186 Yds12 - Par 4 429 Yds
4 - Par 4 355 Yds13 - Par 5 518 Yds
5 - Par 4 491 Yds14 - Par 4 367 Yds
6 - Par 4 477 Yds15 - Par 4 439 Yds
7 - Par 3 183 Yds16 - Par 3 220 Yds
8 - Par 5 636 Yds17 - Par 4 464 Yds
9 - Par 4 429 Yds18 - Par 5 616 Yds
36 3,835 Yds36 3,637 Yds
Annual:  14th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 6:38-8:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday -- 6:30-9 p.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 7-9 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Scott Piercy (not defending)
Runner-Up:  Pat Perez
Tournament Record:  267 (Vaughn Taylor, 2005)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Vaughn Taylor, 2005)
36-Hole Record:  129 (Bob Estes, 2006)
Course Record:  61 (Scott Piercy, 2011)
Total Purse:  $3,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $540,000; 2nd Place - $324,000; 3rd Place - $204,000
2011 Finish
Scott Piercy273Steve Elkington277
Pat Perez274Ben Martin277
Blake Adams275Matt McQuillan277
Steve Flesch275Nick O'Hern277
Jim Renner276Five players at278
Past Reno-Tahoe Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Scott Piercy (273) -- Pat Perez
2010Matt Bettencourt (277) -- Bob Heintz
2009John Rollins (271) -- Martin Laird
2008Parker McLachlin (270) -- Brian Davis, John Rollins
2007Steve Flesch (273) -- Charles Warren, Kevin Stadler
2006Will MacKenzie (268) -- Bob Estes
2005Vaughn Taylor (267) -- Jonathan Kaye
2004*Vaughn Taylor (278) -- Steve Allan, Hunter Mahan, Scott McCarron
2003Kirk Triplett (271) -- Tim Herron
2002*Chris Riley (271) -- Jonathan Kaye
2001John Cook (271) -- Jerry Kelly
2000*Scott Verplank (275) -- Jean Van de Velde
1999Notah Begay III (274) -- Chris Perry, David Toms

* - Won in Playoff

NOTE:Formerly called Legends Reno-Tahoe Open (2008-09).

Top Contenders in the Field
Scott Piercy------------T-63------T-53mcWon
Pat PerezmcT-68mc---T-15------------2nd
Rod PamplingT-17T-3---------------8thT-21T-18
Chris DiMarco---------------------T-26T-10T-21
John Merrick---------------T-4T-8---T-3T-25
Vaughn Taylor------WonWon---------T-26T-35T-38
Kevin Stadler---------T-41---T-2T-65T-42T-5mc
Matt Bettencourt---------------------T-53Wonwd
Stewart Cink------------------------------
Padraig Harrington------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Padraig Harrington
Darkhorse - Patrick Cantlay
Last Week's Pick to Win (Matt Kuchar) - Tied for 43th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Scott Brown) - Missed the cut
NOTES:Since this event is playing against the WGC - Bridgestone Invitational,
all of the top players in the world are in Ohio in preparation for next week's PGA Championship. But there are 10 former major championship winners in the field: Rich Beem (2002 PGA Championship), Stewart Cink (2009 British Open), John Daly (1991 PGA Championship, 1995 British Open), David Duval (2001 British Open), Todd Hamilton (2004 British Open), Padraig Harrington (2007 and 2008 British Open, 2008 PGA Championship), Lee Janzen (1993 and 1998 U.S. Open), Justin Leonard (1997 British Open), Shaun Micheel (2003 PGA Championship) and Mike Weir (2003 Masters).

Last year, Scott Piercy fired a course-record 61 in the third round to jump in front, then held on for his first PGA Tour victory. Piercy finished at 15- under-par 273 for a one shot win over Pat Perez. After winning last week in Canada, Piercy got into the WGC - Bridgestone Invitational.

In 2010, Matt Bettencourt captured his first PGA Tour win with rounds of 66-68-75-68 to beat Bob Heintz by one shot. Heintz missed a 3-foot birdie putt at the 18th hole with a chance to force a playoff. Bettencourt finished at 11- under 277, rallying from three shots down for the win. It was the third day out of four that his name was atop the leaderboard. Only a 75 on Saturday kept him from completing a wire-to-wire victory.

In 2009, John Rollins took the lead following a second-round 62 and went on to win his third PGA Tour title. Rollins finished at 17-under-par 271 for a 3- shot win over Martin Laird and Jeff Quinney. Rollins won for the first time in five tries when owning at least a piece of the 54-hole lead.

In 2008, Parker McLachlin rolled to a 7-shot win over Brian Davis and Rollins. He finished at 18-under-par 270 for his first PGA Tour victory. His 7-stroke win was the largest in tournament history.

In 2005, Vaughn Taylor managed only an even-par 72 in the final round, but it was more than enough to win for the second straight year. Taylor completed the event at 21-under-par 267. Taylor, whose three-round total of 195 obliterated Jerry Kelly's 2001 54-hole record of 201, also smashed the 72-hole scoring record. Taylor eclipsed the previous mark by four strokes. John Cook was the first to post 271 in 2001, and he was later matched by Chris Riley and Jonathan Kaye in 2002 and Kirk Triplett in 2003. With his win in 2005, Taylor became the first wire-to-wire winner of this event and is the only two-time winner. Taylor is the all-time money leader here with $1,128,862 in earnings.

The 1999 tournament made history, as Notah Begay III captured his first career win and became the first Native American since Rod Curl in 1974 to win on the PGA Tour. Begay took the lead following the third round and then, despite an even-par 72 in the final round, defeated Chris Perry and David Toms by three shots for the win.

The Reno area hosted several Champions Tour events in the 1980s, and previously hosted a PGA Tour stop in 1948 - the Reno Open Invitational won by Ben Hogan.

Players with Nevada ties have had success at this tournament, with UNLV graduate Riley winning in 2002 and University of Nevada alum Triplett winning in 2003 in the town where he went to college. Piercy, the 2011 winner, was born and still resides in Las Vegas.

The PGA Tour moves to South Carolina next week for the PGA Championship, where Keegan Bradley will defend his first major title at the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Resort.

07/31 13:30:34 ET

As of July 31, 2012, at 01:30 PM ET