Football Bowl Subdivision
WEEKLY SCHEDULE
12345
678910
1112131415
161718  

Monmouth to host five in 2012 season

West Long Branch, NJ (Sports Network) - Monmouth University's 2012 football schedule includes a full slate of Northeast Conference games and a match-up against a future rival.

Five of the Hawks' 11 games will be at home, including against Rhode Island, a CAA Football member which will join the NEC in 2013.

Monmouth, which will be celebrating the 20th season in the FCS, will visit two-time defending Patriot League champion Lehigh for its season opener on Sept. 1.

Rhode Island will visit Kessler Field for the first time a week later on Sept. 8, while Monmouth's other non-conference game will be at Ivy League member Cornell on Oct. 13.

Within the NEC, Monmouth will host Sacred Heart (Sept. 22), Bryant (Oct. 20), Central Connecticut State (Nov. 3) and Saint Francis, Pa. (Nov. 10). The Hawks also will travel to Wagner (Sept. 15), Albany (Sept. 29), Duquesne (Oct. 27) and Robert Morris (Nov. 17).

"There is a great deal of parity among the teams in the Northeast Conference," Monmouth coach Kevin Callahan said. "Every game is important as each of the league's nine teams are competing for the conference's automatic berth in the FCS playoffs."

The Hawks finished 5-6 overall last season, including a 4-4 mark in the NEC.

2012 Monmouth Football Schedule

Saturday, Sept. 1, at Lehigh, Bethlehem, Pa.

Saturday, Sept. 8, Rhode Island, West Long Branch, N.J.

Saturday, Sept. 15, at Wagner*, Staten Island, N.Y.

Saturday, Sept. 22, Sacred Heart*, West Long Branch, N.J.

Saturday, Sept. 29, at Albany*, Albany, N.Y.

Saturday, Oct. 13, at Cornell, Ithaca, N.Y.

Saturday, Oct. 20, Bryant*, West Long Branch, N.J.

Saturday, Oct. 27, at Duquesne*, Pittsburgh

Saturday, Nov. 3, Central Connecticut State*, West Long Branch, N.J.

Saturday, Nov. 10, Saint Francis (Pa.)*, West Long Branch, N.J.

Saturday, Nov. 17, at Robert Morris*, Pittsburgh

* - Northeast Conference game

01/30 14:51:11 ET