IndyCar Series
Kanaan wins Indianapolis 500 for the first time

Indianapolis, IN (Sports Network) - Brazilian Tony Kanaan has won the Indianapolis 500 for the first time after prevailing in Sunday's thrilling race that featured a smashing record 68 lead changes.

Kanaan grabbed the lead from Ryan Hunter-Reay just after a restart with three laps remaining. Dario Franchitti, who won the Indy 500 for the third time one year ago, crashed into the wall following the restart, which ended the race under caution and gave Kanaan his maiden win in 12 Indy 500 attempts.

Rookie Carlos Munoz finished second after passing Hunter-Reay on the restart. Hunter-Reay, the defending IndyCar Series champion, placed third. Marco Andretti and Justin Wilson rounded out the top-five.

Franchitti, who was never a factor during the 500-mile race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, ended up finishing 23rd.

The previous record for most lead changes in this prestigious race was 34, set last year.

05/26 15:19:06 ET