Special Event:
Soccer Extras
More Soccer

Russia, Qatar selected to host World Cups

Zurich, Switzerland (Sports Network) - Russia was named host of the 2018 FIFA Men's World Cup on Thursday, while Qatar was selected as the home of the 2022 Men's World Cup.

Russia and Qatar will both host the tournament for the first time.

"I have to say thanks to the Executive Committee of FIFA because for 2018 and 2022 we go to new lands, because the FIFA World Cup has never been in eastern Europe or the Middle East," FIFA President Sepp Blatter said.

"So, I'm a happy president when we speak of the development of football."

England, Belgium/Netherlands and Spain/Portugal were also in the running for the 2018 tournament and Australia, Japan, Korea Republic and the United States were the other finalists for the 2022 event.

Russia received 13 votes from FIFA's 22-man committee in the last round of the process for 2018 to better Spain/Portugal. England was eliminated in the first round after receiving just two votes and Russia picked up the majority needed in the second round.

Qatar led in every round of voting for 2022 and beat the United States in the final round 14-8. The lowest vote-getter was eliminated after each round, with Australia eliminated in the first round, followed by Japan and South Korea.

Russia, which failed to qualify for the 2006 and 2010 World Cups, last played in the event in 2002. The former Soviet Union advanced to the quarterfinals four straight times from 1958-1970, making the semifinals when England hosted in 1966.

Qatar has never played in the World Cup but automatically qualifies in 2022 as the host.

"Thank you for believing in change, for expanding the game and for giving Qatar a chance," Qatar Sheikh Mohammed bin Hamad Al-Thani said. "You will be proud of us - and you will be proud of the Middle East. I promise you this."

The 2014 FIFA World Cup will be held in Brazil.

12/02 13:19:29 ET