Kimetto, Kebede surge to wins at Tokyo Marathon
Tokyo, Japan (Sports Network) - Dennis Kipruto Kimetto led a Kenyan sweep for the men at the Tokyo Marathon Sunday.

The event is now one of six World Marathon Majors, joining races in Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York.

Kimetto finished the race in 2 hours, 6 minutes, 50 seconds. That was eight seconds ahead of fellow countryman and defending champion Michael Kipkorir Kipyego. Kenya's Bernard Kiprop Kipyego was third.  continue>>
Tokyo Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries

Deadly blasts rock Boston
Boston, MA (Sports Network) - Police say at least three people have been killed in the explosions near the finish line of the Boston Marathon.

The two blasts marred Patriots' Day in Boston, transforming a celebratory atmosphere during one of the most prestigious races into a chaotic scene.

Police commissioner Edward Davis confirmed at a news conference that, at 2:50 p.m. ET, there were simultaneous explosions along the route of the Boston Marathon. "These explosions occurred 50 to 100 yards apart and each scene resulted in multiple casualties," Davis said.  continue>>

Boston Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountry | USA: MW

Kebede, Jeptoo capture London Marathon titles
London, England (Sports Network) - Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia won the men's London Marathon title on Sunday, while Priscah Jeptoo of Kenya captured the women's crown.

Many of the competitors wore black ribbons to honor the victims of the Boston Marathon bombings from Monday. A moment of silence was held before the start and extra security was on hand for about 36,000 runners and thousands of fans that lined the streets.

Kebede, the 2012 Chicago Marathon winner, finished Sunday in a time of 2 hours, 6 minutes and 4 seconds to win the London crown for the second time. He also captured the title in 2010 and last year finished third.  continue>>

London Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountriesUSA: MW

Kenyans Kipsang, Kiplagat win Berlin titles
Berlin, Germany (Sports Network) - Kenyans Wilson Kipsang and Florence Kiplagat were the winners Sunday at the Berlin Marathon.

Kipsang took the men's crown in a record time off 2 hours, 3 minutes and 23 seconds, shaving 15 seconds off the previous mark of 2:03:38 set by countryman Patrick Makau in 2011.

Kiplagat won the women's title for the second time in three years. She crossed the line Sunday in a time of 2:21:13, finishing a minute and 15 seconds ahead of fellow Kenyan Sharon Cherop, the 2012 Boston Marathon winner. Germany's Irina Mikitenko, the 2008 Berlin winner, was a distant third.  continue>>

Berlin Marathon:  Route | Winners:MWCountriesUSA: MW

Kenyans Kimetto, Jeptoo win Chicago Marathon
Chicago, IL (Sports Network) - Kenya's Dennis Kimetto captured the men's title at the Chicago Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Rita Jeptoo won the women's crown.

Kimetto set a course record with a time of 2 hours, 3 minutes and 45 seconds, eclipsing the old mark of 2:04:38 set last year by Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia. It marked the third straight year a new record was set at Chicago, as Kenya's Moses Mosop had set a mark of 2:05:37 in 2011.

Kimetto, who won the Tokyo Marathon earlier this year, edged fellow Kenyan Emmanuel Mutai by seven seconds on Sunday, while two more Kenyans rounded out the top four. Sammy Kitwara finished third at 2:05:16, followed by Micah Kogo at 2:06:56. Mosop was eighth on Sunday.  continue>>

Chicago Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

New York City Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

New York City Marathon Winners - Women's Division
2012 Canceled
2011 Firehiwot Dado 27 Ethiopia 2:23:15
2010 Edna Kiplagat 31 Kenya 2:28:20
2009 Derartu Tulu 37 Ethiopia 2:28:52
2008 Paula Radcliffe 34 Great Britain 2:23:56
2007 Paula Radcliffe 33 Great Britain 2:23:09
2006 Jelena Prokopcuka 30 Latvia 2:25:05
2005 Jelena Prokopcuka 29 Latvia 2:24:41
2004 Paula Radcliffe 30 Great Britain 2:23:10
2003 Margaret Okayo 27 Kenya 2:22:31
2002 Joyce Chepchumba 31 Kenya 2:25:56
2001 Margaret Okayo 25 Kenya 2:24:21
2000 Ludmila Petrova 32 Russia 2:25:45
1999 Adriana Fernandez 28 Mexico 2:25:06
1998 Franca Fiacconi 33 Italy 2:25:17
1997 Franziska Rochat-Moser 31 Switzerland 2:28:43
1996 Anuta Catuna 28 Romania 2:28:18
1995 Tegla Loroupe 22 Kenya 2:28:06
1994 Tegla Loroupe 21 Kenya 2:27:37
1993 Uta Pippig 28 Germany 2:26:24
1992 Lisa Ondieki 32 Australia 2:24:40
1991 Liz McColgan 27 Great Britain 2:27:32
1990 Wanda Panfil 31 Mexico 2:30:45
1989 Ingrid Kristiansen 33 Norway 2:25:30
1988 Grete Waitz 35 Norway 2:28:07
1987 Priscilla Welch 42 USA (CO) 2:30:17
1986 Grete Waitz 33 Norway 2:28:06
1985 Grete Waitz 32 Norway 2:28:34
1984 Grete Waitz 31 Norway 2:29:30
1983 Grete Waitz 30 Norway 2:27:00
1982 Grete Waitz 29 Norway 2:27:14
1981 Allison Roe 25 New Zealand 2:25:29
1980 Grete Waitz 27 Norway 2:25:41
1979 Grete Waitz 26 Norway 2:27:33
1978 Grete Waitz 25 Norway 2:32:29
1977 Miki Gorman 42 USA (CA) 2:43:10
1976 Miki Gorman 41 USA (CA) 2:39:11
1975 Kim Merritt 20 USA (WI) 2:46:14
1974 Katherine Switzer 27 USA (NY) 3:07:29
1973 Nina Kuscsik 34 USA (NY) 2:57:07
1972 Nina Kuscsik 33 USA (NY) 3:08:41
1971 Beth Bonner 19 USA (NJ) 2:55:22
Standings (Men)Standings (Women)Fastest

2013-14 World Marathon Championship - Leaderboard (Men)
1 Lelisa Desisa    Ethiopia 40
2 Tsegaye Kebede    Ethiopia 30
T3 Dennis Kimetto    Kenya 25
T3 Stephen Kiprotich    Uganda 25
T5 Michael Kipyego    Kenya 15
T5 Micah Kogo    Kenya 15
T5 Emmanuel Mutai    Kenya 15
T8 Ayele Absero    Ethiopia 10
T8 Gebreghziabher Gebremairiam    Ethiopia 10
T8 Bernard Kipyego    Kenya 10
The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Tokyo Marathon, Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In creating the World Marathon Majors, the organizers of these six races recognized an opportunity to advance the sport, raise awareness of its athletes and increase the level of interest in elite racing among running enthusiasts.

The total score for each athlete in a series will consist of points earned from a maximum of four Qualifying Races during that two-year cycle. To be eligible for the jackpot, an athlete must compete in a minimum of one Qualifying Race during each year of the series.

1st place - 25 points
2nd place - 15 points
3rd place - 10 points
4th place - 5 points
5th place - 1 point
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com