Kimetto, Kebede surge to wins at Tokyo Marathon
Tokyo, Japan (Sports Network) - Dennis Kipruto Kimetto led a Kenyan sweep for the men at the Tokyo Marathon Sunday.

The event is now one of six World Marathon Majors, joining races in Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York.

Kimetto finished the race in 2 hours, 6 minutes, 50 seconds. That was eight seconds ahead of fellow countryman and defending champion Michael Kipkorir Kipyego. Kenya's Bernard Kiprop Kipyego was third.  continue>>
Tokyo Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries

Deadly blasts rock Boston
Boston, MA (Sports Network) - Police say at least three people have been killed in the explosions near the finish line of the Boston Marathon.

The two blasts marred Patriots' Day in Boston, transforming a celebratory atmosphere during one of the most prestigious races into a chaotic scene.

Police commissioner Edward Davis confirmed at a news conference that, at 2:50 p.m. ET, there were simultaneous explosions along the route of the Boston Marathon. "These explosions occurred 50 to 100 yards apart and each scene resulted in multiple casualties," Davis said.  continue>>

Boston Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountry | USA: MW

Kebede, Jeptoo capture London Marathon titles
London, England (Sports Network) - Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia won the men's London Marathon title on Sunday, while Priscah Jeptoo of Kenya captured the women's crown.

Many of the competitors wore black ribbons to honor the victims of the Boston Marathon bombings from Monday. A moment of silence was held before the start and extra security was on hand for about 36,000 runners and thousands of fans that lined the streets.

Kebede, the 2012 Chicago Marathon winner, finished Sunday in a time of 2 hours, 6 minutes and 4 seconds to win the London crown for the second time. He also captured the title in 2010 and last year finished third.  continue>>

London Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountriesUSA: MW

Berlin Marathon:  Route | Winners:MWCountries | USA: MW

Berlin Marathon Champions (Women's Division)
2013 Florence Kiplagat Kenya 2:21:13
2012 Aberu Kebede Ethiopia 2:20:30
2011 Florence Kiplagat Kenya 2:19:44
2010 Aberu Kebede Ethiopia 2:23:58
2009 Atsede Habtamu Besuye Ethiopia 2:24:47
2008 Irina Mikitenko Germany 2:19:19
2007 Gete Wami Ethiopia 2:23:17
2006 Gete Wami Ethiopia 2:21:34
2005 Mizuki Noguchi Japan 2:19:12
2004 Yoko Shibui Japan 2:19:41
2003 Yasuko Hashimoto Japan 2:26:32
2002 Naoko Takahashi Japan 2:21:49
2001 Naoko Takahashi Japan 2:19:46
2000 Kazumi Matsuo Japan 2:26:15
1999 Tegla Loroupe Kenya 2:20:43
1998 Marleen Renders Belgium 2:25:22
1997 Catherina McKiernan Ireland 2:23:44
1996 Colleen De Reuck South Africa 2:26:35
1995 Uta Pippig Germany 2:25:37
1994 Katrin D�rre-Heinig Germany 2:25:15
1993 Renata Kokowska Poland 2:26:20
1992 Uta Pippig Germany 2:30:22
1991 Renata Kokowska Poland 2:27:36
1990 Uta Pippig East Germany 2:28:37
1989 P�ivi Tikkanen Finland 2:28:45
1988 Renata Kokowska Poland 2:29:16
1987 Kerstin Pressler West Germany 2:31:22
1986 Charlotte Teske West Germany 2:32:10
1985 Magda Ilands Belgium 2:34:10
1984 Agnes Jakab Hungary 2:39:32
1983 Karen Holdsworth United Kingdom 2:40:32
1982 Jean Lochhead United Kingdom 2:47:05
1981 Angelika Stephan West Germany 2:47:24
1980 Gerlinde P�ttmann West Germany 2:47:18
1979 Jutta von Haase West Germany 3:07:07
1978 Ursula Blaschke West Germany 2:57:09
1977 Christa Vahlensieck West Germany 2:34:48
1976 Jutta von Haase West Germany 3:05:19
1975 Christin Bochr�der West Germany 2:59:15
1974 Jutta von Haase West Germany 3:22:01
Kenyans Kimetto, Jeptoo win Chicago Marathon
Chicago, IL (Sports Network) - Kenya's Dennis Kimetto captured the men's title at the Chicago Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Rita Jeptoo won the women's crown.

Kimetto set a course record with a time of 2 hours, 3 minutes and 45 seconds, eclipsing the old mark of 2:04:38 set last year by Tsegaye Kebede of Ethiopia. It marked the third straight year a new record was set at Chicago, as Kenya's Moses Mosop had set a mark of 2:05:37 in 2011.

Kimetto, who won the Tokyo Marathon earlier this year, edged fellow Kenyan Emmanuel Mutai by seven seconds on Sunday, while two more Kenyans rounded out the top four. Sammy Kitwara finished third at 2:05:16, followed by Micah Kogo at 2:06:56. Mosop was eighth on Sunday.  continue>>

Chicago Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Mutai, Jeptoo win NYC titles
New York, NY (Sports Network) - Geoffrey Mutai of Kenya captured the men's title at the New York City Marathon on Sunday, while countrymate Priscah Jeptoo claimed the women's crown.

Mutai also won the men's title in 2011, making him the first man to win consecutive NYC Marathon crowns since John Kagwe of Kenya in 1997 and '98.

Of course, last year's marathon was canceled in the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy and more than 45,000 runners took the course on Sunday.  continue>>

New York City Marathon:  Route | Winners: MWCountries | USA: MW

Standings (Men)Standings (Women)Fastest

2013-14 World Marathon Championship - Leaderboard (Men)
1 Lelisa Desisa    Ethiopia 40
2 Tsegaye Kebede    Ethiopia 30
T3 Dennis Kimetto    Kenya 25
T3 Stephen Kiprotich    Uganda 25
T5 Michael Kipyego    Kenya 15
T5 Micah Kogo    Kenya 15
T5 Emmanuel Mutai    Kenya 15
T8 Ayele Absero    Ethiopia 10
T8 Gebreghziabher Gebremairiam    Ethiopia 10
T8 Bernard Kipyego    Kenya 10
The World Marathon Majors is a series consisting of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world: Tokyo Marathon, Virgin London Marathon, Boston Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and ING New York City Marathon. In creating the World Marathon Majors, the organizers of these six races recognized an opportunity to advance the sport, raise awareness of its athletes and increase the level of interest in elite racing among running enthusiasts.

The total score for each athlete in a series will consist of points earned from a maximum of four Qualifying Races during that two-year cycle. To be eligible for the jackpot, an athlete must compete in a minimum of one Qualifying Race during each year of the series.

1st place - 25 points
2nd place - 15 points
3rd place - 10 points
4th place - 5 points
5th place - 1 point

©2015 The Sports Network, A STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com