Home | Preview | Grid | Results | Recap | News | Facts | Schedule | Track | Finishes
Past Winners | 2012 Results | Teams | Drivers | Sprint Unlimited | Budweiser Duels
Past Daytona 500 Winners
YearRace WinnerAvg.Pole WinnerSpeed
1959Lee Petty135.520Cotton Owens143.198
1960Junior Johnson124.740Fireball Roberts151.556
1961Marvin Panch149.601Fireball Roberts155.709
1962Fireball Roberts152.529Fireball Roberts156.995
1963Tiny Lund151.566Johnny Rutherford165.183
1964Richard Petty154.345Paul Goldsmith174.910
1965Fred Lorenzen141.539Darel Dieringer171.151
Shortened to 332+ miles due to rain
1966Richard Petty160.627Richard Petty175.165
Shortened to 495 miles due to rain
1967Mario Andretti149.926Curtis Turner180.831
1968Cale Yarborough143.251Cale Yarborough189.222
1969Lee Roy Yarbrough157.950David Pearson190.029
1970Pete Hamilton149.601Cale Yarborough194.015
1971Richard Petty144.462A.J. Foyt182.744
1972A.J. Foyt161.550Bobby Isaac186.632
1973Richard Petty157.205Buddy Baker185.662
1974Richard Petty140.894David Pearson185.017
Shortened to 450 miles due to energy crisis
1975Benny Parsons153.649Donnie Allison185.827
1976David Pearson152.181A.J. Foyt185.943
1977Cale Yarborough153.218Donnie Allison188.048
1978Bobby Allison159.730Cale Yarborough187.536
1979Richard Petty143.977Buddy Baker196.049
1980Buddy Baker177.602A.J. Foyt195.020
1981Richard Petty169.651Bobby Allison194.624
1982Bobby Allison153.991Benny Parsons196.317
1983Cale Yarborough155.979Ricky Rudd198.864
1984Cale Yarborough150.994Cale Yarborough201.848
1985Bill Elliott172.265Bill Elliott205.114
1986Geoff Bodine148.124Bill Elliott205.039
1987Bill Elliott176.263Bill Elliott210.364†
1988Bobby Allison137.531Ken Schrader193.823
1989Darrell Waltrip148.466Ken Schrader196.996
1990Derrike Cope165.761Ken Schrader196.515
1991Ernie Irvan148.148Davey Allison195.955
1992Davey Allison160.256Sterling Marlin192.213
1993Dale Jarrett154.972Kyle Petty189.426
1994Sterling Marlin156.931Loy Allen Jr190.158
1995Sterling Marlin141.710Dale Jarrett193.498
1996Dale Jarrett154.308Dale Earnhardt189.510
1997Jeff Gordon148.295Mike Skinner189.813
1998Dale Earnhardt172.712Bobby Labonte192.415
1999Jeff Gordon161.551Jeff Gordon195.067
2000Dale Jarrett155.669Dale Jarrett182.334
2001Michael Waltrip 161.794Bill Elliott183.565
2002Ward Burton 142.971Jimmie Johnson185.831
2003Michael Waltrip133.870Jeff Green186.606
Shortened to 272.5 miles due to rain
2004Dale Earnhardt Jr 156.345Greg Biffle188.387
2005Jeff Gordon 135.173 Dale Jarrett188.312
2006Jimmie Johnson142.734Jeff Burton189.151
2007Kevin Harvick149.335David Gilliland186.320
2008Ryan Newman152.672Jimmie Johnson187.075
2009Matt Kenseth132.816Martin Truex, Jr.188.001
Shortened to 380 miles due to rain
2010Jamie McMurray137.284Mark Martin191.188
2011Trevor Bayne130.326Dale Earnhardt, Jr.186.089
2012Matt Kenseth140.256Carl Edwards194.738

©2015 The Sports Network, A STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com