Yearly Schedules:
MLB Extras
More MLB
MLB Gaming
MLB Odds
More Baseball

MLB rules Ortiz pop up a hit in Darvish no-hit bid

New York, NY (SportsNetwork.com) - Major League Baseball has changed the scoring in Texas starter Yu Darvish's no-hit bid from last Friday against Boston, ruling David Ortiz's seventh-inning pop up that fell in short right field a hit.

Darvish had retired the first 20 batters when Ortiz hit a pop up that fell between second baseman Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios. Official scorer Steve Weller initially called it an error, citing Rule 10.12 that says a play that can be made with "ordinary effort" can be judged as an error even if no player touches the ball.

Rios was charged with the error and Darvish' no-hit bid continued into the ninth inning, when Ortiz laced a clean single with two outs to spoil it.

The Red Sox appealed the ruling and MLB overturned the call.

05/14 17:21:32 ET