Home | Preview | Field | Scoring | Pairings
Winners | Sites | Format | Records
USGA - Womens's State Team Championship Preview
From The Sports Network
Dates: Tuesday, September 17 through Thursday, September 19th
Sites: NCR Country Club (South Course), Kettering, Ohio
Course Architects: Dick Wilson (1954)
Par: 73
Yardage: 6,153
HolePar and YardsHolePar and Yards
1 Par 5435 yds 10 Par 5 504 yds
2 Par 3131 yds 11 Par 4 349 yds
3 Par 4385 yds 12 Par 4 420 yds
4 Par 4293 yds 13 Par 3 174 yds
5 Par 5508 yds 14 Par 4 315 yds
6 Par 5435 yds 15 Par 3 177 yds
7 Par 4386 yds 16 Par 5 427 yds
8 Par 3135 yds 17 Par 4 320 yds
9 Par 4378 yds 18 Par 4 381 yds
373,086 yds 36 3,067yds
Annual: 10th
Television: None
Schedule of Play: Schedule of Play: The field of golfers willplay 18 holes on each of three stroke play rounds Sep. 17-19 (Tuesday-Thursday). The two lowest scores from each three-person team constitute theteam score for each round. The three-day total is the team's score for theChampionship.
Runner-Up: Rhode Island, North Carolina, Florida
Championship Record: 429 (3 under - Alabama, 1997)
434 (4 under - Georg ia, 2005)
36-Hole Record: 285 (Georgia, 2005)
18-Hole Record: 139 (7 under - Georgia, 2005)
(5 under - Texas, 1995)
(5 under - Georgia, 2009)
Lowest 18-Hole Individual Record: 67 (Brenda Corrie Kuehn, NoCarolina, 1997)
(Kathy Hartwiger, Alabama, 2009)
(Rachel Dai, Georgia, 2011)
Florida 458New Jersey 461Hawaii 466Minnesota 467New York 467
2011 Finish
Georgia 448
Tennessee 450
Texas 450
Maryland 451
Past USGA Womens's State Team Championship Results
YearWinner (Score) --Runner-up
2011 Georgia(448) -- Tennessee, Alabama
2009 Georgia(436) -- Alabama
2007 Arizona(437) -- Tennessee
2005 Georgia(434) -- Alabama
2003 Ohio(447) -- North Carolina
2001Minnesota (449) -- Maryland
1999 Florida(286) -- Tennessee
1997 Alabama(429) -- North Carolina
1995Pennsylvania (442) -- Texas
Trailing by as many as five shots during the final round, the state of Georgiarallied for a two-stroke win to defeat Texas and Tennessee when thischampionship was last held back in 2011. Held at The Landings in Savannah, Ga.the Georgia team became the first state to capture this title back-to-back,having also won in 2009.

Led by then 14-year-old Rachel Dai, who birdied four of her last nine holes tocapture the individual honors, Georgia won this championship for a third timeand joined the Texas men as the only state to have registered three USGA StateTeam Championships. Georgia won its first title in 2005. The biennial StateTeam Championships began in 1995. Laura Coble and Amira Alexander completed theGeorgia squad. Dai's three-round total of 214, including a second day score of67.

Back in 2009, the Peach State, led from start to finish, as they became thefirst state to capture this championship twice. Dori Carter shot 69 in thefirst and third rounds and 15-year-old Mariah Stackhouse carded a final round70 to lead Georgia to a nine-shot victory.

Georgia, which started the final round in '09 with a three-shot advantage overHawaii and South Carolina, is the only multiple Women's State Team winner sincethe biennial competition began. Laura Coble, 45, of Augusta is the only Georgiamember to have played on both teams. Her final-round 75 was not counted in the3-count-2 format. A total of 49 teams were entered, with North Dakota, Vermontand Puerto Rico not fielding teams. Alabama's Kathy Hartwiger carded a final-round 67 which tied the 18-hole scoring record in this championship, set backin 1997.

The state of Arizona recorded an eight-shot win over Tennessee in 2007 to winthis championship for the first time. Led by Thuhashini Selvaratnam, who shot a1-under-par 71 in the final round, Arizona easily cruised to victory. KaylaMortellaro and Judy Miller completed the Arizona team. Selvaratnam wasthe only player in the field to record two sub-par rounds. Alabama, who trailedby two heading into the final round, placed fourth with California. Alabama hadwon this championship in 1997 and placed second in 2005. Tennessee is three-time runner-up, having finished second also in 1999 and 2011. Florida,the 1999 winner, finished third.

In 2005, Laura Coble, Jean Reynolds and Kyu Ri Ban teamed to lead Georgia to atwo-stroke win over Alabama and capture the USGA Women's State TeamChampionship. Coble, the only player in the field to post a score in the 60s,an opening round 68, finished with a three-day total of 214, one shy ofCandace Schepperle of Alabama. Schepperle was the only player in thechampionship to shoot three sub-par rounds. Texas and Maryland finished tied inthird at 450.

The State Team Championships grew out of the celebration of the USGA Centennialin 1995 and was fashioned after the biennial World Amateur Team Championships.Each state is invited to send its three best players. State associations aregiven the option to choose their teams by any method, withone restriction: college players are ineligible because of NCAA bylaws. Somestates use a point system to select a team. Others use the top finishers intheir state championships or conduct qualifying tournaments. A few statesemploy a selection committee to determine team members. Just as in the WorldAmateur Team Championships, the State Team Championships format mean that onlythe best two scores of each state's three players are counted in each of threedays. The inaugural State Team Championships proved to be such a popularcompetition that the decision was made to conduct the championships every twoyears, in odd-numbered years.

Trailing Georgia by one stroke after round one in 2003, Ohio, behind formerLPGA Tour player Emily Bastel, totaled 151 the last two days to defeat NorthCarolina by four shots and capture its first USGA Women's State TeamChampionship. With the win, Ohio became the fifth different winner in thehistory of the event.

The women's and men's championships are open to female and male amateur golfersas selected by each state golf association or administrative body. At present,collegiate players are not eligible to compete in this championship. The NCAArules state that a player may only play in an international team competitionwhen that team is sponsored by the national governing body, such as the CurtisCup Match (female), Walker Cup Match (male) or the World Amateur TeamChampionships. Any infraction of that rule means the collegiate player may bedeclared ineligible for the remainder of the season and the following season.

All states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico may enter teams of threeplayers. The only golfers ineligible to participate are those currently on acollege team, per NCAA rules. A total of 52 teams, including the District ofColumbia and Puerto Rico, have entered the 2012 USGA Women's State TeamChampionship.

This is the 10th USGA Women's State Team Championship and the fourth USGAChampionship to be conducted at NCR Country Club. This will be the 37th USGAchampionship held in the Buckeye State. The club hosted the 1986 U.S. Women'sOpen, 1998 U.S. Mid-Amateur and 2005 U.S. Senior Open. The last USGA eventconducted in Ohio was the 2011 U.S. Senior Open at Inverness Club in Toledo.

The 2015 championship will be staged at Dalhousie Golf Club in CapeGirardeau,Mo.

©2015 The Sports Network. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com