Special Event:
Golf Extras
More Golf
Home | Preview | Field | Scoring | Pairings
Winners | Sites | Format | Records
USGA - Senior Women's Amateur Championship Preview
From The Sports Network
Dates: Saturday, September 21st through Thursday, September 26th
Site: CordeValle Golf Club, San Martin, California
Course Architect: Robert Trent Jones Jr (1999)
Par: 72
Yardage: 5,968
HolePar and YardsHolePar and Yards
1 Par 4 362 Yds 10 Par 4 336 Yds
2 Par 3 148 Yds 11 Par 4 337 Yds
3 Par 5 529 Yds 12 Par 3 163 Yds
4 Par 4 325 Yds 13 Par 4 348 Yds
5 Par 4 365 Yds 14 Par 4 356 Yds
6 Par 5 486 Yds 15 Par 5 415 Yds
7 Par 3 165 Yds 16 Par 3 117 Yds
8 Par 4 318 Yds 17 Par 4 358 Yds
9 Par 4 340 Yds 18 Par 5 504 Yds
36 3,083 Yds 36 2,934 Yds
Annual: 52nd
Television: None
Schedule of Play: Stroke Play - Saturday and Sunday, September 21-22,
(field reduced to the lowest 64 players, who advance to match play).
Match Play - Monday, September 23rd - First Round,
Tuesday, September 24th - Second & Third Rounds,
Wednesday, September 25th - Quarters and Semis,
Thursday, September 26th - Championship Match
Defending Champion: Ellen Port
Runner-Up: Jane Fitzgerald
Lowest Medalist Score (36 holes): 135 (Toni Wiesner, 1998)
Lowest Medalist Score (18 holes): 67 (Toni Wiesner, 1998; Betty Probasco, 1991)
Last Year's Results
Ellen Port def. Jane Fitzgerald, 4 & 3
Ellen Port def. Lecia Alexander, 6 & 4
Jane Fitzgerald def. Lisa Schlesinger, 4 & 3
Ellen Port def. Carolyn Creekmoore, 1-up
Jane Fitzgerald def. Joan Higgins, 2-up
Lisa Schlesinger def. Brenda Pictor, 4 & 3
Lecia Alexander def. Julie Harrison, 8 & 7

The first USGA Senior Women's Amateur championship was played in 1962 at the Manufacturer's Golf and Country Club in Oreland, Pennsylvania. In its 51 years of competition, the championship has had 28 different winners. Eleven golfers have won the title more than once. The event moved to match play in 1997 and became the last of the 10 national amateur championships to adopt a match-play format. Sectional qualifying was first conducted for the 2000 championship.

This event is open to female amateurs who have reached their 50th birthday by Sept. 21 and who have a USGA Handicap Index not exceeding 18.4. The deadline for entries was July 17. In 2011, a total of 507 entries were accepted for the championship. In 2010, a total of 543 entries were accepted, which tied the championship record established in 2006. 538 entries were accepted for this year's championship.

The Senior Women's Amateur Championship Trophy was presented in 1962 by the United States Golf Association and Friends of Senior Golf. Ironically, when Marlene Streit of Canada won the 1985 championship, she declined to take possession of the trophy, fearing a hassle with Canada's custom officials when she returned home. The trophy stayed at USGA headquarters in New Jersey for the year.

Although this will be the first USGA Championship staged at CordeValle, the resort is no stranger to championship events. CordeValle has hosted the Frys.com Open on the PGA Tour since 2010. The PGA Cup was also hosted by CordeValle in 2011 and the annual Gifford Collegiate Championship is conducted at the course.

The state of California has a storied USGA history. The 2013 USGA Senior Women's Amateur will be the 72nd USGA championship conducted in California, and the second in 2013, following the U.S. Junior Amateur at Martis Camp in Truckee. This will be the seventh Senior Women's Amateur held in California, and the first since 2004 at Pasatiempo G.C. in Santa Cruz.

Last year, Ellen Port trailed Jane Fitzgerald 2-down after 10 holes, but she then won the next five holes to close out the match, 4 & 3. During that stretch, Port made three birdies to secure her first USGA Senior Women's Amateur title and her fifth USGA championship. Port, in her first year of eligibility, has won four U.S. Women's Mid-Amateurs. She joined Carol Semple Thompson, an eight-time USGA champion, as the only golfers to have won U.S. Women's Mid-Amateur and USGA Senior Women's Amateur titles. The 2012 championship was held at Hershey Country Club (Pa.).

Terri Frohnmayer defeated then defending champion Mina Hardin, 2 & 1 in 2011, to win her first title at the USGA Senior Women's Amateur Championship. Frohnmayer, 55, appeared in her first USGA national final and, with her victory, she ended Hardin's chances at becoming the first player to successfully defend this title since Diane Lang in 2005-06.

In 2010, Hardin became the first female citizen of Mexico to win a USGA national championship, as shed edged Alexandra Frazier, 2 & 1.

Lang became a three-time champion of this event in 2008, as she defeated Toni Wiesner, 6 & 5, at Tulsa Country Club. Lang became the sixth woman to win the Senior Women's Amateur three or more times. Wiesner, who was a three-time runner-up at this championship, passed away in July 2009.

In 2007, Anna Schultz won the USGA Senior Women's Amateur Championship in 20 holes over Robyn Puckett. That year's playoff was the third extra-hole final since the championship went to a match-play format in 1997. Schultz played in her third USGA final, having finished as the runner-up in the 2006 Senior Women's Amateur and the 2000 Women's Mid-Amateur.

Lang became the seventh player to win this championship in back-to-back seasons, as she defeated Schultz, 1-up in 2006 at Sea Island Golf Club. With the victory, Lang joined Loma Smith, Carolyn Cudone, Alice Dye, Dorothy Porter, Anne Sander and Carol Semple Thompson as the only players to win this historic championship in successive years.

In 2005, playing in this championship for the first time, Lang defeated the grande dame of Women's Amateur golf, Semple Thompson, 1-up. Thompson was playing in her record 102nd USGA championship.

The 2014 championship will be played at Hollywood Golf Club, in Deal, N.J.

· Inverness to host 2019 U.S. Junior Amateur

· Burke selected as 2016 Curtis Cup captain

· Flint Hills National awarded the 2017 U.S. Junior

More News