Special Event:
Golf Extras
More Golf
Home | Preview | Field | Scoring | Pairings
Winners | Sites | Format | Records
USGA Senior Amateur Format
From The Sports Network
The USGA Senior Amateur Championship is open to amateurs who will have reached their 55th birthday on or before Sept. 21, 2013, and who have a USGA Handicap Index not exceeding 7.4. The USGA accepted 2,344 entries for the 2013 USGA Senior Amateur Championship. The record of 2,498 entries was set in 2005.

FORMAT: Two days worth of 36-hole, qualifying stroke-play will be contested on Saturday, September 21st and Sunday, September 22nd. The field will then be reduced to the lowest 64 players, who advance to match play.

The first round of matches will be held on Monday, September 23rd, while the second and third-round matches will be contested on Tuesday, September 24th. On Wednesday, September 25th the quarterfinal and semifinal matches will take place while the championship match will be held on Thursday, September 26th. All matches will be 18 holes.

CHAMPION REWARDS: The champion receives a gold medal and custody of the Frederick L. Dold Trophy for the ensuing year. He also receives an exemption from local qualifying at the next U.S. Open, as well as exemptions from sectional qualifying at the next U.S. Senior Open, the next two U.S. Amateurs, the next two U.S. Mid-Amateurs, the next U.S. Amateur Public Links, and the next 10 USGA Senior Amateurs, if otherwise eligible.

HISTORY: The USGA Senior Amateur was inaugurated in 1955. Entries were open to golfers age 55 and over who had a Handicap Index not over 10. Addition of the USGA Senior Amateur gave the USGA twice as many championships as it had conducted before World War II, when there were just four: the U.S. Amateur, U.S. Open, and U.S. Women's Amateur, all started in 1895, and U.S. Amateur Public Links (1922). From World War II through 1955, the USGA added four championships: the U.S. Junior Amateur (1948), U.S. Girls' Junior (1949), U.S. Women's Open (1953) and USGA Senior Amateur (1955). The USGA now conducts 13 national championships, 10 of which are strictly for amateurs.

TROPHY: The permanent Senior Amateur Championship Trophy was presented by Frederick L. Dold of Wichita, Kansas in 1955. Dold had retired from the USGA Executive Committee after five years of service.

· Yang downs Conners to win U.S. Amateur crown

· Yang, Conners to face off for U.S. Amateur crown

· Wedel, Yang, Conners, McCarthy on to U.S. Am semis

More News