Golf Extras
More Golf
CHAMPIONS - Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, June 10th through Sunday, June 12th
SITE: Rock Barn Golf Club & Spa (Jones Course), Conover, North Carolina
COURSE ARCHITECT: Robert Trent Jones Jr. (2002)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,090
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 436 Yds10 - Par 4 431 Yds
2 - Par 4 476 Yds11 - Par 4 451 Yds
3 - Par 3 187 Yds12 - Par 4 375 Yds
4 - Par 5 568 Yds13 - Par 4 433 Yds
5 - Par 4 415 Yds14 - Par 5 573 Yds
6 - Par 4 451 Yds15 - Par 3 150 Yds
7 - Par 5 507 Yds16 - Par 4 389 Yds
8 - Par 4 335 Yds17 - Par 3 190 Yds
9 - Par 3 197 Yds18 - Par 5 526 Yds
36 3,572 Yds36 3,518 Yds
Annual:  9th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 12:30-2:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 1-4 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Gary Hallberg
Runner-Up:  Fred Couples
Tournament Record:  198 (Jay Haas, 2009; Gary Hallberg, 2010)
36-Hole Record:  129 (R.W. Eaks, Tom Jenkins, 2008)
Course Record:  61 (R.W. Eaks, 2008; Gary Hallberg, 2010)
Total Purse:  $1,750,000
Shares:  1st Place - $262,500; 2nd Place - $154,000; 3rd Place - $126,000
2010 Finish
Gary Hallberg198Nick Price203
Fred Couples199Tommy Armour III205
Bernhard Langer200Chip Beck205
Bob Tway201Five players at206
Morris Hatalsky202
Past Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2010Gary Hallberg (198) -- Fred Couples
2009Jay Haas (198) -- Andy Bean
2008R.W. Eaks (200) -- Tom Jenkins, Tom Kite
2007R.W. Eaks (199) -- Jay Haas, Rod Spittle
2006*Andy Bean (201) -- R.W. Eaks
2005Jay Haas (200) -- Dana Quigley
2004Doug Tewell (202) -- Bruce Fleisher
2003Craig Stadler (201) -- Larry Nelson

* - Won in Playoff

NOTE:Formerly called Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn (2003-09);
Ensure Classic at Rock Barn (2010).

Top Contenders in the Field
Gary Hallberg---------------T-48T-63Won
Bob Tway------------------T-64th
Nick Price------------T-7T-25T-46th
Chip Beck---------3rdT-48T-41T-36T-7
Hal Sutton------------------T-4T-9
Tom Jenkins4thT-14T-59T-39T-31T-2T-12T-9
Fred Funk------------T-25T-10T-12T-9
Tom KiteT-7------T-13T-48T-2T-31T-9
David Frost------------------T-9T-14
Andy BeanT-55T-25T-45WonT-31T-25T-2T-17
Dan Forsman---------------T-13T-12T-25
David EgerT-29T-49T-36T-26T-10T-31T-12T-29
Mark Wiebe---------------T-420thT-29
Brad Bryant------T-11T-10T-15T-18T-21T-29
Tom PurtzerT-38------T-5T-25T-53T-46T-29
D.A. WeibringT-16T-17------T-15T-25T-31T-42
Keith Fergus---T-17T-21T-32T-7T-23T-46T-47
Craig StadlerWonT-25T-4T-13T-21---T-21---
John Cook------------------T-21---
Doug TewellT-16WonT-40wd------------
Michael Allen------------------------
Mark Brooks------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Mark Calcavecchia
Darkhorse - Peter Senior
Last Week's Pick to Win (Loren Roberts) - Finished tied for 25th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Steve Pate) - Finished tied for 9th
The Champions Tour travels to North Carolina this week for the Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn. Three of the top-four players on the money list are in the field this week - Nick Price, John Cook and Michael Allen. All three players will be looking to gain ground on money leader Tom Lehman, who is not playing. Cook will be trying to join Lehman as the only three-time winners on tour in 2011.

Last year, Gary Hallberg matched the course record with an 11-under 61 in the final round, beating Fred Couples by a shot to win his first Champions Tour title. Hallberg, a three-time winner on the PGA Tour, finished 54 holes at Rock Barn with an 18-under 198 to tie the tournament scoring record. His 61 matched the lowest final-round score by a winner in Champions Tour history, which was previously done by Rocky Thompson (1994 GTE Suncoast Classic) and Loren Roberts (2006 MasterCard Championship at Hualalai). Hallberg joined Ron Streck, Keith Fergus and Lehman as the only four players who have won on the PGA Tour, Nationwide Tour and Champions Tour.

In 2009, Jay Haas birdied five of his last six holes and fired a seven-under 65 in the final round to win this event for the second time. Haas' late rally gave him a two-shot victory over Andy Bean and Russ Cochran. He also won this event in 2005. Haas fired rounds of 62-71-65 and held at least a share of the lead after every round.

In 2008, R.W. Eaks fired a course-record 61 in the first round and went on to successfully defend his title. He finished at 16-under 200 and won by four shots over Tom Kite and Tom Jenkins.

Eaks fired rounds of 63-66-70 to hold off a charge by Haas to win in 2007. Eaks went wire-to-wire for the win, squeezing three rounds of golf into just two days after the first round was rained out on Friday. He finished at 17- under 199 for a two-shot win over Haas.

In 2006, Andy Bean birdied the first playoff hole to defeat Eaks and earn his first Champions Tour victory. Bean, who went wire-to-wire for the victory, withstood a late charge from Eaks, who birdied six of his last seven holes in regulation and forced Bean to birdie the last to force the sudden-death playoff. The victory was Bean's first professional win since the 1987 Kapalua International on the PGA Tour.

Haas picked up his maiden Champions Tour title in 2005 with a two-stroke victory. Haas fired a seven-under 65 in the final round to end the tournament at 16-under-par 200, two strokes better than second-round leader Dana Quigley. It was Haas' first victory since the 1993 H.E.B. Texas Open on the PGA Tour.

The Champions Tour heads to New York in two weeks for the Dick's Sporting Goods Open in Endicott, where Loren Roberts captured the 2010 event.

06/07 17:37:23 ET

As of June 7, 2011, at 05:37 PM ET

Champions Tour News
· Goydos earns first Champions Tour win

· Funk, Goydos share lead in Hawaii

· Pernice fires 60, leads by 4 in Hawaii

More News