Golf Extras
More Golf
CHAMPIONS - Principal Charity Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Friday, June 3rd through Sunday, June 5th
SITE: Glen Oaks Country Club, West Des Moines, Iowa
COURSE ARCHITECT: Tom Fazio (1994)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,879
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 373 Yds10 - Par 4 418 Yds
2 - Par 3 203 Yds11 - Par 5 559 Yds
3 - Par 4 408 Yds12 - Par 4 421 Yds
4 - Par 4 377 Yds13 - Par 4 407 Yds
5 - Par 3 195 Yds14 - Par 3 201 Yds
6 - Par 4 419 Yds15 - Par 5 549 Yds
7 - Par 4 412 Yds16 - Par 3 170 Yds
8 - Par 4 369 Yds17 - Par 4 467 Yds
9 - Par 5 510 Yds18 - Par 4 421 Yds
35 3,266 Yds36 3,613 Yds
Annual:  11th
Television:  Golf Channel - Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 7:30-10 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Nick Price
Runner-Up:  Tommy Armour III
Tournament Record:  197 (Gil Morgan, 2006)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Gil Morgan, 2006)
Course Record:  63 (John Bland, 2002; Massy Kuramoto, 2007;
  Tommy Armour III, 2010)
Total Purse:  $1,725,000
Shares:  1st Place - $258,750; 2nd Place - $151,800; 3rd Place - $124,200
2010 Finish
Nick Price199Russ Cochran205
Tommy Armour III203Dan Forsman205
John Cook204Don Pooley205
Loren Roberts204Jeff Sluman205
Chip Beck205Bruce Vaughan205
Past Principal Charity Classic Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2010Nick Price (199) -- Tommy Armour III
2009*Mark McNulty (203) -- Fred Funk, Nick Price
2008Jay Haas (203) -- Andy Bean
2007Jay Haas (201) -- Brad Bryant, R.W. Eaks
2006Gil Morgan (197) -- Loren Roberts
2005*Tom Jenkins (204) -- D.A. Weibring
2004D.A. Weibring (204) -- Tom Jenkins
2003Don Pooley (200) -- Bruce Fleisher, Bruce Lietzke, Jim Thorpe
2002Bob Gilder (200) -- John Bland
2001Jim Thorpe (199) -- Gil Morgan

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Allianz Championship (2001-06).

Top Contenders in the Field
Nick Price------3rdT-2Won
Tommy Armour III------------2nd
Loren Roberts2nd---T-5T-6T-3
John Cook------T-5T-6T-3
Jeff Sluman------T-50T-12T-5
Dan Forsman---------T-24T-5
Don Pooley------T-22---T-5
Mike Reid---------T-12T-11
Fred Funk---------T-2T-16
Tom Kite---T-25T-30T-6T-16
Brad Bryant---T-2T-30T-24T-16
Mike Goodes------T-22T-47T-24
Tom PurtzerT-10T-16T-5T-36T-26
Mark O'Meara------T-30wdT-26
Jay Haas---WonWonT-17T-30
Morris HatalskyT-6T-7T-36T-6T-36
Lonnie NielsenT-23T-53T-22T-17T-36
David EgerT-52T-40T-125thT-43
Bobby WadkinsT-46T-25T-5T-38T-48
Gil MorganWonT-47T-36T-38T-48
David Frost------------T-48
Mark McNulty---T-16T-36Won---
Tom Lehman---------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Loren Roberts
Darkhorse - Steve Pate
Last Week's Pick to Win (Michael Allen) - Finished tied for 11th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Peter Senior) - Finished tied for 5th
The Champions Tour travels to Iowa this week for the Principal Charity Classic. This event was previously known as the Allianz Championship from 2001-06. The top-three players on the money list are expected to play this week, including money leader Tom Lehman, who has won three times so far this season. He is joined by Nick Price and John Cook, who are second and third on the money list. Cook, who has won twice in 2011, and Lehman are the only multiple winners on tour this year.

Last year, Nick Price won for the second time in 2010 after rounds of 67-65-67. Price finished with a 14-under 199 on the Glen Oaks course to beat Champions Tour rookie Tommy Armour III by four shots. It marked the first time Price captured multiple wins in a season since 1994, when he won six times and was named PGA Tour Player of the Year.

In 2008, Jay Haas rallied with a six-under 65 in the final round to repeat as champion. Haas, who won the Senior PGA Championship the week before, finished at 10-under-par 203, which was good for a one-shot win over Andy Bean. It was the third time Haas won back-to-back starts.

Haas opened with a first-round 65 in 2007 and cruised to a wire-to-wire victory as he won by three strokes over Brad Bryant and R.W. Eaks. Haas closed with a two-under 69 in the final round to finish at 12-under-par 201. The win was his third of four in 2007. Haas joined D.A. Weibring (2004) as the only wire-to-wire winners in tournament history.

In 2006, Gil Morgan overcame a two-shot deficit with two holes to play, snatching a victory away from Loren Roberts when Roberts double-bogeyed the 17th hole and Morgan birdied it. Morgan closed with a four-under 67 following rounds of 66-64 to end at 16-under-par 197 for his 24th victory on the Champions Tour. Morgan became the oldest winner in tournament history at 59 years, eight months and 12 days. Morgan won his 25th Champions Tour title at the 2007 Wal-Mart First Tee Open to pass Miller Barber for third place on the all-time wins list. Morgan trails only Hale Irwin (45) and Lee Trevino (29) in career Champions Tour victories.

When Morgan won in 2006, he established a new tournament record of 197, breaking the old mark of 199 set by Jim Thorpe in 2001. He also set a new 36-hole record of 130, breaking the mark of 131 established by John Bland in 2002.

The Champions Tour moves to North Carolina next week for the Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn in Conover, where Gary Hallberg captured last year's event.

05/31 17:39:19 ET

As of May 31, 2011, at 05:39 PM ET

Champions Tour News
· Couples fires 61, beats Andrade in Calgary playoff

· Tway, two others tied for the lead in Calgary

· Pernice, Bryant share lead in Calgary

More News