Golf Extras
More Golf
NATIONWIDE - Utah Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, July 28th through Sunday, July 31st
SITE: Willow Creek Country Club, Sandy, Utah
COURSE ARCHITECT: Henry Hughes (1957), Damian Pascuzzo (2004)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,953
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 5 544 Yds10 - Par 5 591 Yds
2 - Par 3 214 Yds11 - Par 3 242 Yds
3 - Par 5 547 Yds12 - Par 5 575 Yds
4 - Par 4 469 Yds13 - Par 4 382 Yds
5 - Par 3 189 Yds14 - Par 4 387 Yds
6 - Par 4 436 Yds15 - Par 3 172 Yds
7 - Par 3 213 Yds16 - Par 4 388 Yds
8 - Par 4 421 Yds17 - Par 5 581 Yds
9 - Par 4 404 Yds18 - Par 3 196 Yds
35 3,437 Yds36 3,516 Yds
Annual:  13th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday -- 6:30-9:30 p.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 7-9:30 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Michael Putnam (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Jhonattan Vegas, Bradley Iles
Tournament Record:  262 (Brendon Todd, 2008)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Brendon Todd, 2008)
36-Hole Record:  127 (David Sutherland, 2001)
Course Record:  62 (Jeff Gove, 2009)
Total Purse:  $550,000
Shares:  1st Place - $99,000; 2nd Place - $59,400; 3rd Place - $37,400
2010 Finish
Michael Putnam266Jason Enloe272
Bradley Iles269John Mallinger273
Jhonattan Vegas269Chris Nallen273
Jeff Gove270Andrew Svoboda273
Brandt Jobe270Three players at274
Past Utah Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2010Michael Putnam (266) -- Bradley Iles, Jhonattan Vegas
2009Josh Teater (264) -- Tyler Aldridge
2008Brendon Todd (262) -- Jeff Klauk, Won Joon Lee, Ryan Hietala,
Marc Leishman, Brian Smock, Kyle Thompson
2007Franklin Langham (264) -- Richard Johnson
2006Craig Kanada (272) -- Gavin Coles, Ken Duke, Bryce Molder,
Michael Putnam
2005Garrett Willis (275) -- Kris Cox, Brian Henninger, Matthew Goggin
2004Brett Wetterich (272) -- Ryuji Imada, Franklin Langham
2003Zach Johnson (267) -- Bobby Gage
2002#Arron Oberholser (202) -- Doug Barron, Brian Claar
2001David Sutherland (272) -- Danny Briggs
2000Andrew Morse (269) -- John Riegger
1999Carl Paulson (266) -- Craig Bowden, Marco Gortana

# - Weather Shortened

Note:Formerly called Utah Classic (1999-2002), Envirocare Utah Classic
(2003-05), Utah EnergySolutions Championship (2006-07).

Top Contenders in the Field
Bradley Iles------mcmcT-2
Jeff Gove------T-28T-10T-4
John Kimbell---wdmcT-3T-15
Steve Wheatcroft---------T-3mc
Brendon Todd------Wonmcmc
Craig KanadaWon---mcmcmc
Kyle Reifersmc------mcmc
Troy Kelly---------T-23---
Scott Brown---------------
Daniel Chopra---------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Matt Hendrix
Darkhorse - Josh Broadaway
Last Week's Pick to Win (Greg Owen) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Ted Potter, Jr.) - Finished tied for 6th
The Nationwide Tour travels to the Beehive State this week for the Utah Championship. Two of the top-five players on the money list are playing this week - Troy Kelly and Kyle Reifers. Despite neither player having a victory, they are fourth and fifth on the money list. Kelly has three top-three finishes this year, including two runner-up finishes. Reifers has three top- six finishes, including a tie for second last week at the Nationwide Children's Hospital Invitational.

Last year, Michael Putnam closed with a four-under 67 to come from behind and win. Putnam finished his first Nationwide Tour title at 18-under-par 266. He flew into the lead with three straight birdies from the fifth and got to 18-under thanks to a birdie on the par-four ninth. Around the turn, he stumbled to a bogey on the 11th. Putnam atoned for that mistake with a two- putt birdie on the par-five 12th. He parred out to wrap up his first tour victory.

Putnam will not be on hand to defend his title, as he earned his PGA Tour card for 2011 by finishing 24th on the 2010 Nationwide Tour money list. He is 133rd on the 2011 PGA Tour money list, with his best finish being a tie for 12th at the John Deere Classic.

In 2009, Josh Teater took control with three birdies in a four-hole span in the final round en route to the victory. Teater, who won for the first time on the Nationwide Tour, fired rounds of 65-67-64-68 to end at 20-under-par 264. That was good for a four-stroke win over Tyler Aldridge.

In 2008, Brendon Todd capped off four sparkling rounds of golf with a four-under 67 in the final round to claim his first Nationwide Tour win. Todd finished the tournament at 22-under-par 262, comfortably ahead of a group of six players six shots back.

In 2006, Craig Kanada only posted a one-under 71 in the final round, but it was enough to earn his first Nationwide Tour victory. He finished at 16-under-par 272 and won by a single stroke over Gavin Coles, Ken Duke, Bryce Molder and Putnam. The win was Kanada's first on the Nationwide Tour, a circuit he first played on in 1991. He made 212 starts on the tour and 58 more on the PGA Tour and finally broke into the winner's circle.

Willow Creek Country Club has hosted this event since its inception in 1999. Eight of the 12 winners were first-time champions on the Nationwide Tour. Arron Oberholser, Zach Johnson, Brett Wetterich and Franklin Langham were the exceptions. Oberholser, Johnson and Wetterich have since titled on the PGA Tour. Johnson also became a major champion in 2007 when he won The Masters.

The tour moves to Nebraska next week for the Cox Classic in Omaha, where Martin Piller captured the title last year.

07/26 17:12:19 ET

As of July 26, 2011, at 05:12 PM ET

Nationwide Tour News
· 2014 Tour Year In Review

· Blair leads suspended Tour Championship

· Blair leads by 2 at TPC Sawgrass

More News