PGA European - JBWere Masters Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, November 12th through Sunday, November 15th
SITE: Kingston Heath Golf Club, Melbourne, Australia
COURSE ARCHITECT: Dr. Alister MacKenzie (1925)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,059
Hole-by-Hole1 - Par 5 505 Yds
2 - Par 4 435 Yds
3 - Par 4 361 Yds
4 - Par 4 416 Yds
5 - Par 4 384 Yds
6 - Par 4 294 Yds
7 - Par 4 427 Yds
8 - Par 3 189 Yds
9 - Par 4 430 Yds
36 3,441 Yds
10 - Par 4 481 Yds
11 - Par 3 160 Yds
12 - Par 5 574 Yds
13 - Par 4 354 Yds
14 - Par 5 564 Yds
15 - Par 3 155 Yds
16 - Par 4 442 Yds
17 - Par 4 460 Yds
18 - Par 4 428 Yds
36 3,618 Yds
Annual:  31st (4th as co-sanctioned event)
Television:  Golf Channel - Wednesday/Thursday -- 10 p.m.-1 a.m. (et),
  Friday/Saturday -- 8 p.m.-12 a.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Rod Pampling
Runner-Up:  Marcus Fraser
Tournament Record:  269 (Bradley Hughes, 1998)
54-Hole Record:  203 (Justin Rose, 2007)
36-Hole Record:  133 (Aaron Pike, 2007)
Course Record:  64 (Aaron Pike, 2007; Aaron Townsend, 2008)
Total Purse:  $1,500,000 (Australian Dollars)
Shares:  1st Place - $270,000; 2nd Place - $153,000; 3rd Place - $101,250
2008 Finish
Rod Pampling *276Tim Clark280
Marcus Fraser276David McKenzie281
Robert Allenby279Marc Leishman282
Alexander Noren280Martin Erlandsson282
Nathan Green280Anthony Summers282

* - Won in Playoff

Past JBWere Masters Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2008*Rod Pampling (276) -- Marcus Fraser
2007*Aaron Baddeley (275) -- Daniel Chopra
2006Justin Rose (276) -- Greg Chalmers, Richard Green
2005*Robert Allenby (271) -- Bubba Watson
2004*Richard Green (271) -- Greg Chalmers, David McKenzie
2003*Robert Allenby (277) -- Adam Scott, Craig Parry, Jarrod Moseley
2002*Peter Lonard (279) -- Gavin Coles, Adam Scott
2001Colin Montgomerie (278) -- Nathan Green
2000Michael Campbell (282) -- Brett Rumford
1999Craig Spence (276) -- Greg Norman
1998Bradley Hughes (268)
1997Peter Lonard (276)
1996Craig Parry (279)
1995Peter Senior (280)
1994Craig Parry (282)
1993Bradley Hughes (281)
1992Craig Parry (283)
1991Peter Senior (278)
1990Greg Norman (273)
1989Greg Norman (280)
1988Ian Baker-Finch (283)
1987Greg Norman (273)
1986Mark O'Meara (284)
1985Bernhard Langer (281)
1984Greg Norman (285)
1983Greg Norman (285)
1982Graham Marsh (289)
1981Greg Norman (289)
1980Gene Littler (288)
1979Barry Vivian (289)

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called MasterCard Masters (2005-08), Sportsbet Australian
Masters (2009).

Top Contenders in the Field
Rod Pampling---T-5Won
Marcus FraserT-32T-102nd
Marc LeishmanmcmcT-8
Michael Sim------T-11
Stuart ApplebyT-523rdmc
Peter O'MalleyT-144thmc
John SendenT-14T-15mc
Jarrod MoseleyT-17T-67mc
Craig ParryT-17---mc
Aaron Baddeley5thWon---
Geoff Ogilvy---------
Adam Scott---------
Tiger Woods---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Tiger Woods
Darkhorse - Adam Scott
Last Week's Pick to Win (Tiger Woods) - Finished tied for 6th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Sean O'Hair) - Finished tied for 62nd
The European Tour heads to Australia this week for the JBWere Masters. This event is co-sanctioned by the PGA Tour of Australasia and the European Tour. This is the 31st year of the tournament, but only the fourth as part of the European Tour. The field is led by world No. 1 Tiger Woods, who is playing in this event for the first time. Geoff Ogilvy, the 2006 U.S. Open champion, is the highest-ranked Australian player in the field at No. 12. This is the first year that the event is being held at Kingston Heath Golf Club in Melbourne. The first 30 years of the event were staged at Huntingdale Golf Club.

Last year, Australian Rod Pampling needed three extra holes to defeat countryman Marcus Fraser and win this event. Fraser got into the clubhouse first after posting a stellar seven-under 65 in the final round. Pampling carded a five-under 67 as the two finished regulation at 12-under-par 276. On the first playoff hole, both players two-putted for par from long range. Back on the 18th, Fraser looked to be in trouble as his second found a greenside bunker. After Pampling pitched his third to a foot, Fraser sank a 10-foot, par-saving putt. Pampling tapped his in for par and it was back to the 18th for a third playoff hole. Fraser again made a mess of the 18th. He missed the green long with his approach, then putted past the hole. Fraser two-putted for bogey, opening the way for Pampling. Pampling holed a three-foot par putt to secure his first European Tour win. Playoffs have decided the outcome of this tournament six of the last seven years.

In 2007, Aaron Baddeley defeated Daniel Chopra in a playoff to win this event. Baddeley won with a par on the fourth playoff hole after hitting his tee shot into the trees. Baddeley saved par from eight feet, while Chopra missed his par putt from seven feet to give the Australian the title. Both players finished the event at 13-under-par 275.

In 2006, on a day when only two players broke 70, all Justin Rose needed was a one-over 73 in the final round to wrap up his first title in four years. Battling tough pin positions, unpredictable winds and slick greens, Rose overcame a triple-bogey and three bogeys to win on the final day. He saved himself with five birdies and finished at 12-under-par 276 for a two-shot victory -- his first since 2002, when the Englishman won his first two European Tour titles. Richard Green, the 2004 champion, was one of two players to break 70, shooting a three-under 69 to tie for second place at 10-under 278 with Greg Chalmers.

Greg Norman is the only player to win consecutive Australian Masters titles, doing so in 1983-84 and 1989-90. In all, Norman has captured the most Australian Masters titles with six (1981, 83-84, 87, 89-90). Other notable winners of this event are Gene Littler (1980), Bernhard Langer (1985), Mark O'Meara (1986), Ian Baker-Finch (1988), Michael Campbell (2000) and Colin Montgomerie (2001).

In 2005, native son Robert Allenby became the first player to win the Australian "Triple Crown." Allenby won the Australian Open, the Australian PGA and the Australian Masters in the same year.

The JBWere Masters is the fifth tournament to be held in Australia as part of the European Tour. The other events were the Heineken Classic (1996-2005), the Johnnie Walker Classic (1997, 2002, 03, 05), Greg Norman Holden International (2000-01) and the ANZ Championship (2002-04).

The European Tour moves to Dubai next week for the season-ending Dubai World Championship at Jumeirah Golf Estates, which is being staged for the first time this year.

11/10 15:28:08 ET

As of November 10, 2009, at 03:28 PM ET

©2015 The Sports Network. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |