Special Event:
Golf Extras
More Golf
PGA European - BMW International Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, June 25th through Sunday, June 28th
SITE: Golfclub Munchen Eichenried, Munich, Germany
COURSE ARCHITECT: Kurt Rossknecht (1987)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 6,955
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 432 Yds10 - Par 4 469 Yds
2 - Par 3 208 Yds11 - Par 5 556 Yds
3 - Par 4 447 Yds12 - Par 3 153 Yds
4 - Par 4 349 Yds13 - Par 4 372 Yds
5 - Par 4 331 Yds14 - Par 4 490 Yds
6 - Par 5 481 Yds15 - Par 4 396 Yds
7 - Par 4 441 Yds16 - Par 4 319 Yds
8 - Par 3 197 Yds17 - Par 3 189 Yds
9 - Par 5 557 Yds18 - Par 5 568 Yds
36 3,443 Yds36 3,512 Yds
Annual:  21st
Television:  The Golf Channel - Thursday/Saturday -- 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (et),
  Sunday -- 9 a.m.-12 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Martin Kaymer
Runner-Up:  Anders Hansen
Tournament Record:  261 (John Daly, 2001)
54-Hole Record:  194 (Padraig Harrington, 2001)
36-Hole Record:  127 (John Daly, 2001)
Course Record:  62 (David Feherty, 1989-90; Steen Tinning, Darren Clarke, 1992;
  David Park, 1999; Padraig Harrington, Jose Maria Olazabal,
  2001; Raphael Jacquelin, 2003; Simon Dyson, 2005)
Total Purse:  $2,772,000 (2,000,000 euros)
Shares:  1st Place - $461,679; 2nd Place - $307,786; 3rd Place - $173,403
2008 Finish
Martin Kaymer *273Robert-Jan Derksen277
Anders Hansen273Henrik Stenson277
John Bickerton275Charl Schwartzel277
Paul Casey275Francois Delamontagne277
Mark Foster275Thomas Levet277
Martin Erlandsson277

* - Won in Playoff

Past BMW International Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2008*Martin Kaymer (273) -- Anders Hansen
2007Niclas Fasth (275) -- Jose-Filipe Lima, Bernhard Langer
2006*Henrik Stenson (273) -- Padraig Harrington, Retief Goosen
2005David Howell (265) -- John Daly, Brett Rumford
2004Miguel Angel Jimenez (267) -- Thomas Levet
2003Lee Westwood (269) -- Alex Cejka
2002Thomas Bjorn (264) -- Bernhard Langer, John Bickerton
2001John Daly (261) -- Padraig Harrington
2000Thomas Bjorn (268) -- Bernhard Langer
1999Colin Montgomerie (268) -- Padraig Harrington
1998Russell Claydon (270) -- Jamie Spence
1997*Robert Karlsson (264) -- Carl Watts
1996#Marc Farry (132) -- Richard Green
1995Frank Nobilo (272) -- Bernhard Langer, Jarmo Sandelin
1994Mark McNulty (274) -- Seve Ballesteros
1993Peter Fowler (267) -- Ian Woosnam
1992*Paul Azinger (266) -- Bernhard Langer, Glen Day, Anders Forsbrand,
Mark James
1991Sandy Lyle (268) -- Tony Johnstone
1990*Paul Azinger (277) -- David Feherty
1989David Feherty (269) -- Fred Couples

* - Won in Playoff

# - Rain Shortened

Top Contenders in the Field
Martin Kaymer---------T-58---mc---mcWon
Anders Hansen---T-30---mcT-28mc---T-42nd
Paul Casey---T-7T-7T-3T-3mcT-13T-39T-3
John BickertonT-64T-60T-2T-8mcmcmcmcT-3
Henrik Stenson------mcmcT-33---WonT-26T-6
Retief Goosen---T-23------T-6---T-2---T-13
Colin MontgomeriemcT-13------T-3---T-6---T-16
Bernhard Langer2ndT-16T-2T-23---T-47T-13T-2T-37
Peter Lawrie---------mcmcT-11mcT-45T-43
David HowellT-20mcT-24T-11T-22WonT-4---T-43
Maarten LafebermcT-53mcT-23mcT-24mcT-4T-48
Thomas BjornWonT-16WonT-17mcT-22T-13mcT-48
Richard Finch---------------T-47T-59mcT-55
Niclas FasthT-25T-60---------T-4T-42WonT-59
Mark Brown------------------------64th
Hennie OttoT-38---------T-58---------65th
Jose-Filipe Lima------------mcmcT-37T-2mc
Ricardo GonzalezmcT-21---mc---T-11T-18T-4mc
Raphael JacquelinmcT-13mcT-3T-22T-9---T-11mc
Miguel A. Jimenez---mcT-10T-17WonT-22T-47T-18mc
Jeev Milkha Singh------T-54------------T-18mc
Damien McGrane---------mcT-25mcT-37mcmc
Graeme McDowell---------mcT-16---mc---mc
David Dixon---------mcmc---mc---mc
Felipe Aguilar------------------------mc
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Niclas Fasth
Darkhorse - Richard Sterne
Last Week's Pick to Win (David Drysdale) - Did not start
Last Week's Darkhorse (Gary Lockerbie) - Missed the cut
The European Tour travels to Germany this week for the BMW International Open. German Martin Kaymer will try to become the first back-to-back winner of this event and will attempt to join Thomas Bjorn and Paul Azinger as multiple champions. This is the 13th straight year in which Golfclub Munchen Eichenried is playing host and the 18th time overall.

Last year, Kaymer birdied the first playoff hole to defeat Anders Hansen and win the BMW International Open at Golfclub Munchen Eichenried. Kaymer squandered a six-shot lead heading into the final round, thanks to two balls in the water en route to a triple-bogey eight at the 11th. He birdied the 72nd hole to force the playoff, then played brilliantly on the sudden-death hole. The two headed back to the par-five 18th and Kaymer ripped a drive into the fairway. Hansen, who also birdied the 72nd hole, switched from a three-wood in regulation to a driver in the playoff and found a fairway bunker. Hansen found a greenside bunker with his second, while Kaymer knocked his approach to seven feet. Hansen blasted out to 25 feet and, sensing he needed at least a birdie, gave the ball a firm rap eight feet past the cup. Hansen, knowing Kaymer would not three-putt from seven feet, took very little time and missed his par putt. He marked and let Kaymer putt out for the championship. Kaymer's eagle putt just missed, but he tapped in for the winning birdie.

The 2004 European Ryder Cup captain, Bernhard Langer, has won every European Tour event on German soil at least once, except the BMW International Open. Langer has finished second five times (1992, 95, 2000, 02 and 07). In his career, he has won 11 European Tour events on German soil.

When John Daly carded 66 during the final round in 2001, he captured his first title since the 1995 British Open Championship. Daly's total of 261 set a new tournament record, breaking the previous mark of 264 set by Robert Karlsson and Carl Watts in 1997. Daly also set a new 36-hole mark of 127.

Paul Azinger was the first American to capture this event in 1990 and again in 1992, with both victories coming in playoffs. With last year's playoff, there have now been five playoffs in tournament history. The only time the European Tour has witnessed a five-man playoff was at the 1992 BMW International Open. 2008 American Ryder Cup captain Azinger prevailed against Glen Day, Anders Forsbrand, Mark James and Langer.

When David Feherty captured the inaugural BMW International, he won by five shots, the largest winning margin in event history. Feherty and Sandy Lyle are the only wire-to-wire winners of this event.

Andrew Coltart was the last player to make an ace at this event. During the 2003 tournament, Coltart made a hole-in-one on the second hole during round two. When Daly won in 2001, he aced the 12th hole during the first round.

The European Tour heads to Paris next week for the Open de France ALSTOM (French Open), as Pablo Larrazabal defends his title.

06/23 15:54:29 ET

As of June 23, 2009, at 03:54 PM ET

European Tour News
· Luiten separates from pack to win Wales Open

· Wesselingh wins 3-way playoff in Germany

· Hutsby wins by 2 shots in Kazakhstan

More News