$8,600,000 British Open Championship Field
Turnberry Resort (Ailsa Course)
Par 70 - 7204 Yards
Ayrshire, Scotland
Jul 16 - Jul 19, 2009
Jaco Ahlers
Thomas Aiken
Robert Allenby
Stephen Ames
Fredrik Andersson Hed
Stuart Appleby
Briny Baird
Peter Baker
Gaganjeet Bhullar
Markus Brier
Paul Broadhurst
Mark Brown
Angel Cabrera
Mark Calcavecchia
Chad Campbell
Michael Campbell
Paul Casey
Marc Cayeux
K.J. Choi
Stewart Cink
Tim Clark
Darren Clarke
Ben Crane
Ben Curtis
John Daly
Rhys Davies
Luke Donald
Nick Dougherty
James Driscoll
David Drysdale
Ken Duke
David Duval
Rafa Echenique
Johan Edfors
Peter Ellebye
Ernie Els
Nick Faldo
Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano
Richard Finch
Oliver Fisher
Ross Fisher
Jim Furyk
Sergio Garcia
Daniel Gaunt
Brian Gay
Josh Geary
Lucas Glover
Mathew Goggin
Retief Goosen
Paul Goydos
Branden Grace
Richard Green
Stephan Gross, Jr.
Todd Hamilton
Anders Hansen
Soren Hansen
Peter Hanson
Padraig Harrington *
Thomas Haylock
Peter Hedblom
David Higgins
Charley Hoffman
J.B. Holmes
David Howell
Charles Howell III
Yuta Ikeda
Ryuji Imada
Ryo Ishikawa
Freddie Jacobson
Raphael Jacquelin
Thongchai Jaidee
Miguel Angel Jimenez
Dustin Johnson
Richard S. Johnson
Zach Johnson
Jeremy Kavanagh
Martin Kaymer
Anthony Kim
James Kingston
Soren Kjeldsen
Tomohiro Kondo
Kenichi Kuboya
Matt Kuchar
Martin Laird
Pablo Larrazabal
Paul Lawrie
Tom Lehman
Justin Leonard
Thomas Levet
Wen-Chong Liang
Davis Love III
Sandy Lyle
Hunter Mahan
Matteo Manassero
Steve Marino
Prayad Marksaeng
Billy Mayfair
Graeme McDowell
Paul McGinley
Damien McGrane
Rory McIlroy
Bryce Molder
Francesco Molinari
Colin Montgomerie
Greg Norman
Sean O'Hair
Mark O'Meara
Koumei Oda
Geoff Ogilvy
Louis Oosthuizen
Gary Orr
Jeff Overton
Rod Pampling
Kenny Perry
Carl Pettersson
Terry Pilkadaris
Ian Poulter
Alvaro Quiros
Richie Ramsay
Robert Rock
Andres Romero
Justin Rose
Rory Sabbatini
Elliot Saltman
Lloyd Saltman
Charl Schwartzel
Adam Scott
John Senden
Vijay Singh
David Smail
Brandt Snedeker
Henrik Stenson
Richard Sterne
Tim Stewart
Graeme Storm
Steve Stricker
Steve Surry
Kevin Sutherland
David Toms
D.J. Trahan
Bruce Vaughan
Camilo Villegas
Anthony Wall
Daniel Wardrop
Nick Watney
Bubba Watson
Tom Watson
Boo Weekley
Mike Weir
Lee Westwood
Oliver Wilson
Chris Wood
Tim Wood
Tiger Woods
Michael Wright
Azuma Yano
* - Defending Champion
The 138th British Open Championship heads to Turnberry and the season`s third major has the same defending champion as last year. Ireland`s Padraig Harrington enters the week with a chance to do something no one has done in over 50 years. With a victory this week, the Irishman would be the first to win the Open Championship three straight years since Australia`s Peter Thomson did so from 1954-56. Only three others have won this championship three straight years and all three of them did it in the 1800s. In 2007, Harrington needed a playoff to knock off Ryder Cup teammate Sergio Garcia. Then, last year, his final-round 69 was good enough for a three-shot win over Ian Poulter. Two top-notch competitors will miss this year`s Open. World No. 2 Phil Mickelson remains away from the tour as his wife, Amy, battles breast cancer. Also, Robert Karlsson, currently No. 15 in the world, remains on the sidelines with an eye infection. Those two may be among the players missing the season`s third major, but the game`s best is back in action across the pond. Tiger Woods returns to the British Open after missing the championship last year as he recovered from knee surgery. When Woods was unable to start last year, he snapped a streak of 46 consecutive majors played, dating to his runaway win at the 1997 Masters. The world`s No. 1 player, if he collects his fourth Open Championship crown this week. would join four others who have won at least that many. Woods enters this week unfamiliar with Turnberry as he has not competed on the course before. Lucas Glover claimed his first major championship at the U.S. Open last month, while Angel Cabrera won the year`s other major, beating Chad Campbell and Kenny Perry in a playoff at the Masters in April. If Glover or Cabrera can win this week, they would make it two straight years with a dual major champion. This week`s host track, the Ailsa Course at Turnberry, has produced three top- flight major champions. When the course first hosted the Open Championship in 1977, it produced one of the best British Opens in history. In 1977, Watson and Jack Nicklaus went toe-to-toe over the final two rounds. When the dust settled, Watson had closed 65-65 to best Nicklaus by one as the Golden Bear closed 65-66. Those two ran away from the field in the Open that is known as "The Duel in the Sun." Greg Norman cruised to a five-stroke win over Gordon J. Brand in the 1986 Open Championship, closing with a one-under 69 to end at even-par 280. It was a star-studded leaderboard with Bernhard Langer, Ian Woosnam, Nick Faldo, Seve Ballesteros and Gary Koch finishing three behind Brand. Nick Price and Jesper Parnevik were in a battle down the stretch in 1994, but it was the steely Price that would walk away the champion. Parnevik needed just a par at worst on the 18th hole get into a playoff. Thinking he needed birdie, Parnevik gambled with his approach and missed the green, which led to a bogey. Price played a pair of iron shots to the green and calmly two-putted for the victory and his third major championship crown. The championship will be well-covered by TNT and ABC this weekend, with daylong broadcasts scheduled for all four rounds. Next week on the European Tour is the SAS Masters, which was won by Peter Hanson last year.

©2015 The Sports Network, A STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com