CANADIAN - Times Colonist Island Savings Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, June 7th through Sunday, June 10th
SITE: Uplands Golf Club, Victoria, British Columbia
COURSE ARCHITECT: A. Victor Price, A. Vernon McCann (1922), Bill Robinson
         (re-design, 1980s), Graham Cooke, Wayne Carleton (1990s)
PAR: 70
YARDAGE: 6,420
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 433 Yds10 - Par 4 361 Yds
2 - Par 4 435 Yds11 - Par 3 171 Yds
3 - Par 4 382 Yds12 - Par 4 430 Yds
4 - Par 3 194 Yds13 - Par 4 288 Yds
5 - Par 4 403 Yds14 - Par 4 415 Yds
6 - Par 4 460 Yds15 - Par 5 476 Yds
7 - Par 5 513 Yds16 - Par 4 335 Yds
8 - Par 4 331 Yds17 - Par 3 185 Yds
9 - Par 3 202 Yds18 - Par 4 406 Yds
35 3,353 Yds35 3,067 Yds
Annual:  30th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Jose de Jesus Rodriguez (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Wes Homan
Course Record:  61 (Roger Sloan, 2010)
Total Purse:  $150,000 (Canadian dollars)
Prize Breakdown:  1st Place - $25,000; 2nd - $14,400; 3rd - $9,000
2011 Finish
Jose d Jesus Rodriguez267Brock Mackenzie274
Wes Homan269Garrett Sapp274
Dustin Risdon270Jae Woo Im274
Dodge Kemmer270Byron Smith275
Andy Matthews274Four players at276
Past Times Colonist Island Savings Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Jose de Jesus Rodriguez (267) -- Wes Homan
2010Brock Mackenzie (266) -- Aaron Goldberg, Adam Hadwin
2009Byron Smith (267) -- Jim Rutledge, Brady Johnson
2008*Daniel Im (268) -- James Lepp
2007Spencer Levin (277) -- Michael Walton, Jon Abbott
2006Mike Grob (269) -- Trevor Dodds, John Lieber
2005Craig Taylor (262) -- Jaime Gomez
2004David Hearn (273) -- James Lepp
2003Patrick Damron (269) -- Robert Hamilton, Richard Zokol
2002Scott Hend (263) -- Michael Harris, David Hearn, Rich Massey
2001Paul Devenport (271) -- Blair Piercy
2000Jason Bohn (266) -- Derek Gilchrist
1999Ken Duke (264) -- Ray Freeman
1998Jay Hobby
1997Rick Todd
1996Arden Knoll
1995Norm Jarvis
1994Matt Jackson
1993Brandt Jobe
1992Mike Colandro
1991Rick Todd
1990Steve Stricker
1989Kelly Gibson
1988Todd Erwin
1987Craig Parry
1986Bob Panasik
1985Jeff Sanders
1984Charles Bolling
1983Not Held
1982Not Held
1981Dave Barr

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called Shell Payless Open, Victoria Open, Times Colonist Open.

Top Contenders in the Field
Wes Homan---2nd
Dustin Risdon---T-3
Brock MackenzieWonT-5
Jae Woo ImT-57T-5
Andy MatthewsmcT-5
Garrett SappmcT-5
John EllisT-11T-14
Bobby Kalinowski---T-14
Mike GrobT-37T-17
Hugo Leon---T-22
Wes HeffernanT-17T-36
Clint RiceT-9T-41
Daniel ImmcT-57
James AllenbyT-4T-61
Roger SloanT-4mc
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Stuart Anderson
Darkhorse - Jordan Cox
Last Week's Pick to Win - November 3-6 (Garrett Sapp) - Finished tied for 45th
Last Week's Darkhorse - November 3-6 (Matt Hoffman) - Missed the cut
The 2012 Canadian Tour season gets under way in British Columbia this week for the Times Colonist Island Savings Open at Uplands Golf Club. Seven of the top-10 players from the 2011 money list are in the field. Jose de Jesus Rodriguez, the 2011 money leader, is not in the field as he is playing at the Mexico Open on the Nationwide Tour.

This is the 12th time in tournament history that the event will be played at Uplands Golf Club. This tournament is the longest running Canadian Tour event, having been held annually since 1984.

Last year, Rodriguez carded rounds of 70-67-64-66 to earn a two-stroke win over Wes Homan. Rodriguez ended at 13-under-par 267. It was his second straight win, and second of his career, on the Canadian Tour.

In 2010, Brock Mackenzie birdied the 18th hole in the final round to shoot a four-under 66 and capture his first Canadian Tour win. Mackenzie finished with a 14-under 266 on the Uplands course to edge past Canadian Adam Hadwin and fellow American Aaron Goldberg by a shot.

In 2008, Daniel Im bogeyed the first playoff hole, but it was enough to defeat James Lepp and win the title. Lepp hit the clubhouse with his second shot in the playoff and landed out of bounds. That opened the door for Im, who was struggling himself on the hole. Im got in with a bogey and Lepp could not top that, giving Im his second win of 2008.

Spencer Levin fired a second-round 65 in 2007 and finished at 11-under-par 277 for his second straight Canadian Tour title. Levin won the Iberostar Riviera Maya Open in his previous start. He became the first back-to-back winner on the Canadian Tour since Michael Harris turned the trick in the 2005 season. Levin is now on the PGA Tour and is 34th on the PGA Tour money list with over $1.2 million in earnings. He finished tied for fourth at the Memorial last week after holding the 54-hole lead.

In 2006, Mike Grob shot a three-under 67 in the final round to win the title by one shot. Grob, the Canadian Tour's all-time money leader, finished four rounds at 11-under-par 269.

Canadian Rick Todd is the only two-time winner. PGA Tour players who have won this event are: Steve Stricker, Ken Duke, Craig Parry, Kelly Gibson, Jason Bohn, Brandt Jobe, Levin and Champions Tour player Dave Barr.

The Canadian Tour travels to Edmonton, Alberta next week for the ATB Financial Classic, where Hugo Leon captured the 2011 title.

06/05 18:02:31 ET

As of June 5, 2012, at 06:02 PM ET

©2015 The Sports Network. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments |