Golf Extras
More Golf
CANADIAN - ATB Financial Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, July 1st through Sunday, July 4th
SITE: Edmonton Country Club, Edmonton, Alberta
COURSE ARCHITECT: Unknown (1896)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,816
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 376 Yds10 - Par 5 495 Yds
2 - Par 4 415 Yds11 - Par 3 173 Yds
3 - Par 4 393 Yds12 - Par 4 365 Yds
4 - Par 3 145 Yds13 - Par 3 229 Yds
5 - Par 4 431 Yds14 - Par 4 419 Yds
6 - Par 5 508 Yds15 - Par 4 445 Yds
7 - Par 4 444 Yds16 - Par 4 432 Yds
8 - Par 4 373 Yds17 - Par 5 550 Yds
9 - Par 4 460 Yds18 - Par 3 181 Yds
36 3,527 Yds35 3,289 Yds
Annual:  4th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Graham DeLaet (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Byron Smith
Tournament Record:  264 (Mike Grob, 2007; Dustin Risdon, George Bradford, 2008)
54-Hole Record:  194 (Dustin Risdon, 2008)
36-Hole Record:  129 (Dustin Risdon, 2008)
18-Hole Record:  62 (Matt Bettencourt, 2007 - Calgary Elks Lodge & Golf Club;
  Dustin Risdon, Brad Heaven, 2008 - Cottonwood Golf & CC)
Total Purse:  $250,000 (Canadian)
Payouts:  1st Place - $40,000; 2nd Place - $24,000; 3rd Place - $15,000
2009 Finish
Graham DeLaet267Josh Geary276
Byron Smith271Garrett Frank276
Scott Gibson273Andrew Parr277
Mauricio Molina274Josh Habig278
Stuart Anderson275Richard Scott278
Past ATB Financial Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2009Graham DeLaet (267) -- Byron Smith
2008*Dustin Risdon (264) -- George Bradford
2007Mike Grob (264) -- Alan McLean

* - Won in Playoff

Top Contenders in the Field
Byron SmithT-49---2nd
Mauricio Molina------4th
Stuart AndersonT-55mc5th
Josh GearyT-3T-35T-6
Garrett Frank---T-44T-6
Andrew Parr------8th
Josh Habig---T-3T-9
Richard ScottT-9---T-9
Mike GrobWonT-8T-11
Eugene SmithT-38T-21T-11
Tom Stankowski---54thT-18
Andy Matthews---T-35T-25
Kris WasylowichT-9T-3T-41
Andrew JohnsonT-49---T-41
Brad HeavenT-7T-12T-51
Aaron Goldberg------mc
Brent Schwarzrock---mc---
Rob Grube---------
Adam Hadwin---------
Brock Mackenzie--------- J. Rodriguez---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Adam Hadwin
Darkhorse - Andy Walker
Last Week's Pick to Win (James Allenby) - Finished tied for 4th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Aaron Goldberg) - Finished tied for 2nd
The Canadian Tour travels to Edmonton, Alberta this week for the ATB Financial Classic at Edmonton Country Club, which will host this tournament for the first time. Fourteen of the top-15 players on the money list are in the field, led by money leader Brock Mackenzie, who captured the Times Colonist Open last week.

Last year, Graham DeLaet fired a eight-under 64 in the final round to win this event by four strokes over Byron Smith. DeLaet finished the tournament at 21-under-par 267 for his first of two victories in 2009. DeLaet would finish the season atop the Canadian Tour money list with over $90,000 in earnings.

DeLaet will not be on hand to defend his title, as he earned his PGA Tour card for 2010 by finishing tied for eighth at the PGA Tour Qualifying Tournament. He has made seven cuts in 16 events this year on the PGA Tour, with his best finish being a tie for third at the Shell Houston Open in April. DeLaet is currently 107th on the PGA Tour money list, with $514,465 in earnings.

In 2008, Dustin Risdon birdied the first playoff hole to defeat George Bradford and win at Cottonwood Golf and Country Club. Risdon shot rounds of 67-62-65-70. Bradford fired an eight-under 63 in the final round to join Risdon at 20-under-par 264. They tied the tournament scoring record that Mike Grob set in 2007. The duo returned to the 18th hole for the playoff and Risdon quickly ended the extra session with a birdie for his second Canadian Tour win.

Mike Grob won the 2007 event, as he fired a six-under 66 in the final round to win the inaugural tournament. Grob completed his fifth Canadian Tour win at 24-under-par 264. The tournament was the Canadian Tour's first stop in Calgary since 2000. That year, Brian Kontak defeated Rob McMillan, Arron Oberholser and Rick Todd by one shot when he eagled the final hole.

The Canadian Tour moves to Saskatchewan next week for the Dakota Dunes Casino Open, where Andres Gonzales captured the 2009 event.

06/29 17:36:11 ET

As of June 29, 2010, at 05:36 PM ET

Canadian Tour News
· PGA Tour Canada announces 2014 schedule

· Gilbert garners Tour Championship title

· Murphy leads by 1 in Ontario

More News