More Hockey

Miami-Ohio receives top seed in NCAA hockey tourney

Indianapolis, IN (Sports Network) - Miami-Ohio, Denver, Wisconsin and Boston College have been selected as the top seeds for the 2010 NCAA hockey tournament.

Miami-Ohio will be the top seed in the Midwest Region and will open play on Saturday, March 27 against Alabama-Huntsville in Fort Wayne, Indiana. Bemidji State and Michigan will play in the other Midwest game on Saturday.

Denver is the top seed in the East and will play its opener on Friday, March 26 against RIT in Albany, New York. Cornell and New Hampshire will square off in the other East game on Friday.

The top seed in the West Region is Wisconsin and the Badgers will play Vermont on Friday in St. Paul, Minnesota. St. Cloud State and Northern Michigan meet in the other West contest.

Boston College will be the top seed in the Northeast Region and will tangle with Alaska-Fairbanks in the first game on Saturday in Worcester, Massachusetts. North Dakota and Yale will face each other in the second game.

The first-round winners will advance to regional championship games the following day, and those winners will play in the Frozen Four, scheduled for April 8 at Ford Field in Detroit. The championship game is slated for April 10 in Detroit.

03/21 12:28:18 ET