More Hockey

Porter wins 2008 Hobey Baker Award

Denver, CO (Sports Network) - The Hobey Baker Memorial Award Executive Committee announced Friday that University of Michigan forward Kevin Porter was named the 28th winner of college hockey's most prestigious individual honor.

Named after a legendary Princeton hockey player who died in World War I, the award recognizes strength of character in players both on and off the ice.

Porter, a senior, is only the second player in the Wolverines' history to win the award, joining Brendan Morrison, who received the honor in 1997.

The Northville, Michigan native registered 33 goals and 63 points in 43 games in 2007-08.

A 2004 draft pick of the Phoenix Coyotes, Porter guided the Wolverines to a 33-6-4 record and a berth in the Frozen Four, where they lost to Notre Dame, 5-4, in overtime in Thursday's national semifinal.

Boston College junior forward Nathan Gerbe and Miami-Ohio senior forward Ryan Jones were the other two finalists.

North Dakota's Ryan Duncan took home the award last season.

04/11 21:17:48 ET