Home    News    Scoreboard    Schedule    Stats    Conferences    FCS Poll
Final(2nd OT) 1234OT2OTScore
Southern U310770734
Jackson State0101430027
Preview | Matchup | Log | Wrap | Box

NCAA Game Summary - Southern vs. Jackson State

(Saturday, December 7th)

Final Score: Southern 34, Jackson State 27, OT

Houston, TX (SportsNetwork.com) - The West worked overtime again to stay the best in the Southwestern Athletic Conference.

Lee Doss' 16-yard touchown reception from Dray Joseph in the second overtime was the deciding margin of Southern's 34-27 victory over Jackson State in the SWAC Championship Game at Reliant Stadium on Saturday.

The win was the sixth straight by the West Division champion over the East champion. In winning, Southern (9-4) reversed a 19-14 loss at home to Jackson State (8-4) in the regular season on Sept. 28.

Joseph, the SWAC co-offensive player of the year and first-team quarterback, threw for 337 yards and three touchdowns.

After Southern broke a 27-27 tie in the beginning of the second overtime, Jackson State had a final possession. But on the final play, running back Tommy Gooden stepped out of bounds in the end zone right before he caught what the Tigers had hoped would be a tying touchdown.

Joseph threw a pair of touchdowns to 5-foot-5 sophomore wide receiver Willie Quinn. The second - a 35-yarder - extended the Jaguars' 13-10 halftime lead to 20-10 with 4:59 left in the third quarter.

But Jackson State came back and forced overtime on Ryan Deising's 37-yard field goal to end the fourth quarter.

Quinn finished with 142 yards on seven receptions, while Lenard Tillery had 118 yards on 16 carries. Southern improved to 3-1 all-time in the SWAC Championship Game.

Jackson State, which fell in overtime for the second straight year and to 1-4 all-time in the game, was led by quarterback Clayton Moore's 262 yards and two touchdowns through the air. He threw two interceptions.

The win meant Southern's Dawson Odums won SWAC coach of the year honors over Jackson State's Rick Comegy.

12/07 18:29:41 ET


Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 John Robertson Votes 2014 History
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 Past
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Kyle Emanuel Votes 2014 History
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 Past
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Sean McDonnell Votes 2014 History
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 Past
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2014 Chase Edmonds Votes 2014 History
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 Past
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Winners
Mickey Charles Award
Year Winner Misc
2014 Zach Zenner History
The Sports Network, a STATS Company. All Rights Reserved.  home | terms of use | privacy policy | comments | SportsNetworkdata.com