Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

N.C. Central sets 12-game schedule for Mack debut

Durham, NC (SportsNetwork.com) - North Carolina Central announced a 12-game regular season, including six matchups at home, for Jerry Mack's first season as head coach on Monday.

Mack was named the Eagles' head coach on Dec. 19. They are coming off a 5-7 campaign.

North Carolina Central's home games at O'Kelly-Riddick Stadium are against Elizabeth City (Sept. 6) and Charlotte (Sept. 13) in non-conference action, and Howard (Oct. 4), Savannah State (Oct. 25), Hampton (Nov. 8, Homecoming) and North Carolina A&T (Nov. 22) within the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference.

The Eagles will play non-conference games at East Carolina (Aug. 30) and Towson (Sept. 20). Within the MEAC, they will visit South Carolina State (Oct. 11), Morgan State (Oct. 18), Bethune-Cookman (Nov. 1) and Norfolk State (Nov. 15).

"This is a quality schedule," Mack said. "We open up with East Carolina, who won a bowl game last year and is a high-caliber FBS program. We play a Charlotte team that is transitioning to the FBS level, and we face three opponents that participated in the NCAA playoffs last season (Bethune-Cookman, South Carolina State and Towson), including a Towson squad that played in the national championship game."

2014 North Carolina Central Football Schedule

Aug. 30, at East Carolina

Sept. 6, Elizabeth City

Sept. 13, Charlotte

Sept. 20, at Towson

Oct. 4, Howard*

Oct. 11, at South Carolina State*

Oct. 18, at Morgan State*

Oct. 25, Savannah State*

Nov. 1, at Bethune-Cookman*

Nov. 8, Hampton* (Homecoming)

Nov. 15, at Norfolk State*

Nov. 22, North Carolina A&T*

* - MEAC game

02/03 12:36:25 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.