Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

The Citadel tabs Houston as new football coach

Charleston, SC (SportsNetwork.com) - Mike Houston will keep the triple option offense going as he tries to achieve the type of success at The Citadel that he enjoyed at Lenoir-Rhyne.

The Citadel named Houston as its 24th head football coach on Thursday, taking over the FCS military school program that has had only three .500-or-better seasons in the last 16 years.

Houston, 42, replaces Kevin Higgins, who resigned after nine seasons to become the assistant head coach and wide receivers coach at Wake Forest. The Bulldogs were 5-7 overall and 4-4 in the Southern Conference this past season.

"I can assure the alumni, administration and fans of this great school that the program will maintain the honor, integrity and discipline that has always been a hallmark of this prestigious institution," Houston said. "On the field, I look to carry on the triple option scheme that has been employed by Coach Higgins over the last four seasons."

Houston recently led Lenoir-Rhyne, located in Hickory, N.C., to a 13-2 record and the NCAA Division II national championship game, where the Bears lost to Northwest Missouri State. His teams won the South Atlantic Conference championship in each of his three seasons guiding the Bears, compiling a 29-8 record.

The 1994 graduate of Mars Hills College spent four seasons as Lenoir-Rhyne's defensive coordinator and secondary coach before becoming the head coach. He was the associate head coach and defensive coordinator at Brevard College in 2006 after previously coaching on the North Carolina high school level.

"I come to this job with a great deal of energy and to compete for championships at what I consider to be one of the premiere institutions in the country," Houston said.

01/09 12:57:42 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.