Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Garoppolo, Little fuel Eastern Illinois victory

Charleston, IL (SportsNetwork.com) - Eastern Illinois quarterback Jimmy Garoppolo and running back Shepard Little stole the show Saturday, leading the No. 2-seeded Panthers to a 51-10 rout of Ohio Valley Conference foe Tennessee State in the second round of the FCS playoffs.

Garoppolo completed 17-of-26 passes for 240 yards, three first-half touchdowns and an interception, while Little gained 184 yards and scored two touchdowns on 12 carries. Both of Little's touchdowns were second-half scores.

The Panthers (12-1), who haven't lost to an FCS squad this season, will host seventh-seeded Towson (11-2) in the quarterfinal round Friday night. Towson beat Fordham, 48-28, Saturday.

Eastern Illinois, with the No. 1 scoring offense in the FCS, ran out to a 44-0 lead in the third quarter before Tennessee State running back Tim Broughton scored from 7 yards out on a run.

In the second quarter, Panthers defensive specialist Leon Holderhead blocked a Tennessee State punt, and teammate Anthony Goodman scooped the ball up and returned it five yards for a touchdown. That gave Eastern Illinois a 30-0 advantage.

Eastern Illinois outgained the Tigers offensively, racking up 553 total offensive yards to Tennessee State's 287. The Tigers lost three fumbles.

Panthers running back Taylor Duncan carried the most times, gaining 79 yards and a touchdown on 21 carries.

12/08 01:01:03 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners