Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Lafayette could become first sub-.500 playoff team

Bethlehem, PA (SportsNetwork.com) - Saturday's Lafayette-Lehigh rivalry matchup will decide the winner of the Patriot League football title and which team gets the conference's automatic bid to the FCS playoffs.

A win for Lafayette would be historic for the playoffs.

By defeating Lehigh, Lafayette (4-6, 3-1 Patriot) would become the first sub-.500 team to qualify for the FCS (formerly Division I-AA) playoffs, which began in 1978.

Lafayette began the season by losing five of its first six games, but has since won three of its last four.

Lehigh, ranked 17th, is 8-2 overall and 3-1 in the Patriot League.

The two teams are meeting for the 149th time in college football's most-played rivalry.

11/19 11:44:04 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.