Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

SWAC fines Grambling, assists JSU after forfeit

Birmingham, AL (SportsNetwork.com) - The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced Wednesday it will fine Grambling State University's athletic department in order to alleviate revenue loss experienced by Jackson State University following the Oct. 19 game forfeited by the visiting Tigers.

Funds for Jackson State will be taken from Grambling State's future distribution amount, which is outlined in the conference bylaws regarding forfeit procedures. In addition to the fine, Grambling State will be required to play at Jackson State in each of the next three seasons to compensate for lost revenue.

A majority of Grambling State football players didn't show up for the bus trip to Jackson State prior to the scheduled trip in protest of their university's football facility conditions and long bus rides used to travel to away games.

"As the immediate governing body of the 10 SWAC member institutions, and with approval from SWAC's Executive Council, the missed game between Jackson State and Grambling State will be deemed a forfeit and GSU will be fined." SWAC commissioner Duer Sharp said in a statement. "As far as the fine for Grambling State and subsequent payment to Jackson State, we believe that it is the right thing to do from a conference standpoint."

Jackson State (8-2, 8-0 SWAC) has qualified for the SWAC Championship Game. Grambling is 1-10 overall and 1-7 in the SWAC.

11/13 11:32:28 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners