Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Appalachian State WR Price dismissed from program

Boone, NC (SportsNetwork.com) - Appalachian State University wide receiver Sean Price has been dismissed from the program due to repeated violations of team rules, football coach Scott Satterfield announced on Sunday.

The 20-year-old redshirt sophomore was suspended for two games in each of his first two seasons at the Southern Conference program. He missed the first two games this season after being charged for public intoxication and disruptive behavior in downtown Boone in August.

"No player in our program, regardless of how talented he is, is above our team, our university or our community," Satterfield said in a university statement. "Repeated behavior that does not meet the high standards that we hold our student-athletes to will not be tolerated. I truly hope that Sean gets on the right track and is able to utilize the talent that he possesses in the future. I wish him nothing but the best."

Price, who opened the season as a nominee for the Walter Payton Award, had 20 receptions for 237 yards and one touchdown in four games.

Last year, the 6-foot-5, 210-pound Price caught 81 passes for 1,196 yards - both FCS single-season records for a freshman - and eight touchdowns in 10 games.

Appalachian State has a 1-5 record in its final season before joining the Sun Belt Conference on the FBS level.

10/13 15:08:48 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners