Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Top-ranked Bison shut out No. 6 South Dakota State

Brookings, SD (Sports Network) - No. 1 for sure.

On a day of terrific matchups across the FCS Saturday, two-time defending national champion North Dakota State left no doubt to its top ranking by thoroughly dominating No. 6 South Dakota State, 20-0, in the Missouri Valley Football Conference opener for both teams.

NDSU (4-0, 1-0) posted its second straight shutout, having beaten Delaware State, 51-0, last Saturday. The Bison also stopped SDSU's nine-game home winning streak while retaining the Dakota Marker Game's traveling trophy.

The Bison limited SDSU (3-2, 0-1) to nine first downs and 124 yards of offense, while sacking Jackrabbits quarterback Austin Sumner seven times. Jackrabbits running back Zach Zenner entered the game with the most rushing yards in the FCS, but had only four on eight carries.

Playing before a Coughlin-Alumni Stadium record crowd of 16,498, NDSU took a 7-0 lead on quarterback Brock Jensen's 1-yard run with 8:47 left in the second quarter.

Jensen also scored the game's final touchdown on a 1-yard carry. Earlier in the fourth quarter, John Crockett scored on a 14-yard run.

Sam Ojuri accounted for 113 of NDSU's 262 yards on the ground. Crockett and Jensen added 76 and 61 yards, respectively.

SDSU linebacker R.C. Kilgore had a career-high 17 tackles in the loss.

09/28 19:59:46 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners