FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Maine seeks third straight win, faces Bryant at home

Orono, ME (SportsNetwork.com) - Perhaps the Maine Black Bears thought their name was mistakenly absent from playoff discussion when it came to Colonial Athletic Association football.

To start the year, there were about seven programs that realistically had a shot at winning the CAA title and an automatic playoff berth in November. And Maine wasn't in that conversation.

Yet here entering the third weekend of the regular season, Maine is one of three teams in the CAA with a 2-0 record, and one of just two CAA teams that has beaten an FBS opponent.

And with the Northeast Conference's Bryant on the slate for Saturday, the Black Bears have a very likely chance at moving to 3-0 to start the year. Think people can toss Maine in the playoff discussion now?

Sure, the Black Bears haven't delved into conference play yet, but a good start to the year has to count for something.

Bryant won't be a pushover, that's for sure. The NEC's best quarterback- to-receiver combo of Mike Westerhaus and Jordan Harris hasn't exploded just yet. But it's likely only a matter of time.

"We're excited to be home. We know Bryant very well," Maine coach Jack Cosgrove said. "They beat Holy Cross in the opening week. That's an impressive win from our standpoint for them, and one that gets our attention. They're a senior-laden offensive line with a skilled quarterback, a receiver, a tailback. All the things are there for them to be a team that could beat us."

Westerhaus has tossed three touchdowns and three interceptions through two games this season - not eye-popping stats, but he was the preseason All-NEC quarterback.

09/12 15:07:39 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.