Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

San Diego slight favorite in PFL preseason poll

St. Louis, MO (Sports Network) - The University of San Diego edged Butler University by the narrowest of margins in the Pioneer Football League preseason head coaches poll which was announced Tuesday.

San Diego finished with five first-place votes and 111 points, while Butler had four first-place votes and 110 points. The two teams shared the PFL title with Drake in a three-way tie last season.

Jacksonville and Drake both garnered 99 points to tie for third in the preseason poll. Jacksonville, though, had two first-place votes to Drake's one.

Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team in the poll.

San Diego first-year coach Dale Lindsey is inheriting a team that will have 11 starters returning, including six on offense.

Butler coach Jeff Voris returns a team that includes quarterback Matt Lancaster, the 2012 PFL Offensive Player of the Year.

This year's league champion will claim an automatic bid to the FCS playoffs for the first time.

The PFL preseason team will be announced Wednesday.

Pioneer Football League Preseason Poll

Voted on by Head Coaches

1. San Diego (5 first-place votes), 111 points

2. Butler (4), 110

3. (tie) Jacksonville (2), 99

3. (tie) Drake (1), 99

5. Dayton, 85

6. Marist, 67

7. Morehead State, 65

8. Campbell, 49

9. Davidson, 42

10. Valparaiso, 32

11. Mercer, 20

12. Stetson, 13

07/30 13:16:40 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.