Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

CAA Football could return to divisions

Richmond, VA (Sports Network) - The addition of Elon University in the 2014 season creates the possibility of CAA Football returning to divisional alignment, commissioner Tom Yeager said Thursday.

Elon, which announced on Thursday it will join the CAA upon leaving the Southern Conference, will give the CAA 12 schools for football.

The CAA has undergone significant change in recent years and James Madison remains a candidate to move up to the FBS ranks.

This season, CAA Football will be one division of 11 teams.

The conference used two-divisional alignments for the 1993-98 and 2004-09 seasons.

"That's going to be the big topic of our discussions when we get to our meetings in 10 days or so. We're going to be very regionally, I'll put it that way," Yeager said.

"But we play eight conference games, which means you don't play everybody every year any how. We're going to come to a decision about what makes the most sense for everybody. And because of the costs involved, that usually (involves) playing people that are closest to you and that are of greatest interest to your fans both home and on the road."

Should the eastern seaboard conference remain 12 teams in 2014, the six northern-most schools will be Albany, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Stony Brook and Villanova, and the six southern-most schools will be Delaware, Elon, James Madison, Richmond, Towson and William & Mary.

"We're going to be creative to make the best kind of scheduling decisions for our schools," Yeager said. "It might be something that's a lot better than just dividing it right down the middle and going six and six."

05/23 16:12:58 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.