Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Payton Award runners-up get NFL opportunity

Philadelphia, PA (Sports Network) - Old Dominion quarterback Taylor Heinicke still has two seasons of eligibility remaining, but the two runners-up for his 2012 Walter Payton Award are ready for the next step of their NFL journey.

Stony Brook running back Miguel Maysonet, who was second to Heinicke in the voting for the FCS' outstanding player award, signed as an undrafted free agent with the Philadelphia Eagles after the NFL Draft's conclusion Saturday night.

Wofford running back Eric Breitenstein, third in the voting, wasn't offered a contract, but will attend a tryout with the Carolina Panthers next month. The Panthers' training camp facility is at Wofford.

NFL teams reached out to undrafted free agents immediately after the draft.

04/28 05:59:24 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.