Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Nicholls to open against three FBS programs

Thibodaux, LA (Sports Network) - The Nicholls football program will play three FBS programs for a second straight season as part of a 12-game 2013 schedule announced on Thursday.

The Colonels will open the season by visiting Oregon (Aug. 31) from the Pac-12, Western Michigan (Sept. 7) from the Mid-American Conference and Louisiana- Lafayette (Nov. 14) from the Sun Belt Conference.

"I feel like our 2013 schedule will be the most challenging schedule in Nicholls football history," fourth-year head coach Charlie Stubbs said. "All three of our FBS opponents are excellent programs, so it will be a great opportunity to compete and improve as we'll play in tough environments that will prepare us for the Southland Conference."

Nicholls will play five home games at John L. Guidry Stadium, starting with NAIA member Langston (Sept. 21) and Division II Arkansas Tech (Sept. 28). The Colonels also will host fellow Southland Conference members Northwestern State (Oct. 12), McNeese State (Oct. 26) and Central Arkansas (Nov. 16).

Also within the Southland, Nicholls will visit Stephen F. Austin (Oct. 19), Lamar (Nov. 2), Sam Houston State (Nov. 9) and Southeastern Louisiana (Nov. 21).

Nicholls only beat NAIA Evangel in a 1-10 season this past year.

2013 Nicholls Football Schedule

Aug. 31, at Oregon

Sept. 7, at Western Michigan

Sept. 14, at Louisiana-Lafayette

Sept. 21, Langston

Sept. 28, Arkansas Tech

Oct. 12, Northwestern State*

Oct. 19, at Stephen F. Austin*

Oct. 26, McNeese State*

Nov. 2, at Lamar*

Nov. 9, at Sam Houston State*

Nov. 16, Central Arkansas*

Nov. 21, at Southeastern Louisiana*

*Southland Conference game

02/21 16:21:07 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.