Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Large FCS contingent invited to NFL Combine

Indianapolis, IN (Sports Network) - Respect for the FCS level appears to be growing on the NFL level.

A contingent of 24 players from FCS schools have been invited to the NFL Combine to held over Feb. 20-26 at Lucas Oil Stadium. The official list was announced by the NFL on Thursday.

Headling the offensive group was a strong group of wide receivers: Jacksonville State's Alan Bonner, Eastern Kentucky's Tyrone Goard, Eastern Washington's Brandon Kaufman, Elon's Aaron Mellette, Tennessee Tech's Darick Rogers and Lehigh's Ryan Spadola.

There also were six offensive linemen: Arkansas-Pine Bluff's Terron Armstead, Tennessee State's Rogers Gaines, Alabama A&M's Jamaal Johnson-Webb,

Youngstown State's Lamar Mady, Cornell's J.C. Tretter and James Madison's Earl Watford.

In addition, Southern Utah quarterback Brad Sorensen and Stony Brook running back Miguel Maysonet, the 2012 Walter Payton Award runner-up, received invitations.

Defensively, there were four FCS cornerbacks: Southeastern Louisiana's Robert Alford, Appalachian State's Demetrius McCray, Sam Houston State's Dax Swanson and William & Mary's B.W. Webb.

Also invited were linebackers Brandon Hepburn of Florida A&M and Keith Pough of Howard; defensive tackles Montori Hughes of UT Martin and Jared Smith of New Hampshire; Samford defensive end Nick Williams; and Georgia Southern safety J.J. Wilcox.

All 32 NFL teams will evaluate about 340 of the nation's top college players for the NFL Draft. Participants will be scheduled by position over the final four days of the Combine.

The draft will be held April 26-28 in New York.

02/07 12:00:46 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.