FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

North Carolina Central to host five in 2013

Durham, NC (Sports Network) - Coming off its first winning season since 2007, North Carolina Central announced an 11-game football schedule on Thursday, including five home dates.

North Carolina Central, which finished 6-5 this past season, will make the short five-mile trip to Duke on Aug. 31 to open the season in a game billed as the "Bull City Gridiron Classic."

The Eagles' home games at O'Kelly-Riddick Stadium are against two-time defending CAA Football champion Towson on Sept. 21 and Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference opponents South Carolina State (Oct. 12), Morgan State (Oct. 19, Homecoming), Bethune-Cookman (Nov. 2) and Norfolk State (Nov. 16).

Coach Henry Frazier III's squad also will play road games against Charlotte (Sept. 14), a first-year program on its way to the FBS level, and MEAC schools Howard (Oct. 5), Savannah State (Oct. 26), Hampton (Nov. 9) and North Carolina A&T (Nov. 23).

"We open up with an FBS opponent (Duke), a future FBS program (Charlotte) and the co-champions of the Colonial Athletic Association (Towson)," Frazier, who is in his third season at North Carolina Central, said. "Those games will be an awesome gauge to see how far we've come as a program."

2013 North Carolina Central Football Schedule

All Times ET

Aug. 31, at Duke

Sept. 14, at Charlotte

Sept. 21, Towson, 2 p.m.

Oct. 5, at Howard*, 1 p.m.

Oct. 12, South Carolina State*, 2 p.m.

Oct. 19, Morgan State* (Homecoming), 2 p.m.

Oct. 26, at Savannah State*

Nov. 2, Bethune-Cookman*, 2 p.m.

Nov. 9, at Hampton*

Nov. 16, Norfolk State*, 2 p.m.

Nov. 23, at North Carolina A&T*, 1 p.m.

* - MEAC game

01/31 13:49:25 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.