Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Stetson readies for 2013 season

DeLand, FL (Sports Network) - Stetson University will return to football for the first time since 1956 with an 11-game schedule in 2013, including six at home.

Under the direction of former Princeton coach Roger Hughes, the Hatters will play in the non-scholarship Pioneer Football League. The league also will add Mercer University this year in expanding to 12 schools.

Stetson's first game will be at home at Spec Martin Stadium against another first-year program - NAIA member Warner - on Aug. 31.

"There will be a great sense of satisfaction because we started with nothing and built it from the ground up," said Hughes, who was named the Stetson coach on June 27, 2011. "I am also going to be wondering how the kids will perform. It will be the first time since we started practice that they will have a chance to play someone else. That is going to be exciting to see."

Stetson will play two other sub-Division I teams before starting its PFL schedule. The Hatters will visit Division II Florida Tech for the Pirates' first game on Sept. 7. Following an off week, which could become a fourth non- conference game if an opponent becomes available, the Hatters will host Division III Birmingham-Southern on Sept. 21.

The Hatters' PFL schedule includes home games against Dayton (Oct. 12), Campbell (Nov. 2) and Davidson (Nov. 9). The Hatters will travel for games at Butler (Oct. 5) in Indianapolis, at Marist (Oct. 26) in Poughkeepsie, N.Y., at Jacksonville (Nov. 16) and at Mercer (Nov. 23) in Macon, Ga.

2013 Stetson University Football Schedule

All Times ET

Aug. 31, Warner University, DeLand, Fla., 7 p.m.

Sept. 7, at Florida Tech, Palm Bay, Fla., 7 p.m.

Sept. 21, Birmingham-Southern, DeLand, Fla., 7 p.m.

Sept. 28, San Diego*, DeLand, Fla., 1 p.m.

Oct. 5, at Butler*, Indianapolis, 1 p.m.

Oct. 12, Dayton*, DeLand, Fla., 1 p.m.

Oct. 26, at Marist*, Poughkeepsie, N.Y., 1 p.m.

Nov. 2, Campbell*, DeLand, Fla., 1 p.m.

Nov. 9, Davidson*, DeLand, Fla., 1 p.m.

Nov. 16, Jacksonville*, Jacksonville, Fla., 1 p.m.

Nov. 23, at Mercer*, Macon, Ga., 1 p.m.

* - Pioneer Football League game

01/10 11:11:33 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.