Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Mercer hopes to take advantage of home schedule

Macon, GA (Sports Network) - The Mercer University football program will play eight of its 12 games at home next season when it returns to collegiate football for the first time since 1941.

Under the direction of former Furman coach Bobby Lamb, the Bears will play in the non-scholarship Pioneer Football League. The league also will add Stetson University this year in expanding to 12 schools.

Mercer will kick off its season at home on Aug. 31 against another first-year program, NAIA member Reinhardt.

The Bears' other non-league games also will be at home against sub-Division I opponents: Warner (NAIA, a first-year program) on Sept. 14, Berry College (Division III) on Sept. 21 and Carnegie Mellon (Division III) on Oct. 19.

Within the PFL, Mercer will host Drake (Sept. 27), Valparaiso (Oct. 12), Jacksonville (Nov. 9) and Stetson (Nov. 23).

All four of Mercer's road games are against PFL opponents: San Diego (Oct. 5), Campbell (Oct. 26), Davidson (Nov. 2) and Marist (Nov. 16).

2013 Mercer University Football Schedule

Aug. 31, Reinhardt

Sept. 14, Warner

Sept. 21, Berry

Sept. 27, Drake*

Oct. 5, at San Diego*

Oct. 12, Valparaiso*

Oct. 19, Carnegie Mellon

Oct. 26, at Campbell*

Nov. 2 at Davidson* Nov. 9, Jacksonville*

Nov. 16, at Marist*

Nov. 23, Stetson*

* - Pioneer Football League game

01/10 09:48:47 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.