Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

NDSU extends Bohl through 2021 season

FARGO, ND (Sports Network) - North Dakota State University has rewarded its national championship-winning football coach Craig Bohl with an eight-year contract extension.

Athletic director Gene Taylor announced Tuesday that Bohl's contract extension will run from 2013 to 2021.

Bohl, 54, led NDSU to the NCAA Division I Football Championship last season and has the Bison back in the national title game against Sam Houston State on Saturday in Frisco, Texas.

Named two weeks ago as the Eddie Robinson Award winner as the FCS coach of the year, Bohl has an 88-32 record in 10 seasons with the Bison.

"I am very pleased we have signed Coach Bohl to continue being the head coach of the Bison the next several years," Taylor said. "His record of success speaks for itself and how he operates the program overall is exceptional. I could not be more pleased as to the future of Bison football under his leadership and our continued working relationship together."

Taylor said Bohl's current base salary is $206,503. The annual salary will be increased by a minimum of 5 percent per year effective July 1, contingent on performance evaluations.

The contract includes 3 percent of gross home football regular-season single- game and season ticket sales. There also are incentives for a Missouri Valley Football Conference championship ($10,000), FCS home ($5,000) and away ($2,500) playoff games, a FCS runner-up finish ($10,000) and a FCS championship ($15,000).

The contract includes provisions for the assistant coaches to receive potential compensation for team performances. They are a conference championship ($1,500), FCS home ($1,500) and away ($750) playoff games, a FCS runner-up finish ($1,500) and a FCS championship ($2,000). It also states the yearly budget for assistant coach salaries shall be in the top 10 percent of the FCS.

North Dakota State middle linebacker Grant Olson is considered probable for Saturday's national championship game after he was hospitalized Monday for complications with his appendix. The junior has a team-high 146 tackles, including a school-record 29 tackles in a quarterfinal-round win over Wofford.

01/01 14:16:54 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.