Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Jacksonville State names Clark new football coach

Jacksonville, AL (Sports Network) - Jacksonville State University didn't have to look far for its new head football coach.

The Ohio Valley Conference university has given the job to Bill Clark, who has spent the last five years as the defensive coordinator at the University of South Alabama after serving as one of the most successful high school coaches within the state.

Clark, a 1990 graduate of Jacksonville State, will be formally introduced during a news conference on Wednesday at JSU Stadium.

"I'm very excited about the opportunity to come back home and become the next football coach at Jacksonville State," Clark said. "Jacksonville State has a great tradition and I'm looking forward to building off the past success, while also making us a national contender on the FCS level in the future."

Clark replaces Jack Crowe, who was fired three weeks ago with two seasons left on his contract. He had an 87-57 record in 13 season.

Clark's defense at South Alabama finished second in the Sun Belt Conference in total defense this year as the Jaguars completed their first full season of competition in the league.

He has over 20 years of coaching experiencing. including nine years and a 107-11 record as head coach of nationally ranked Prattville High School. He won a pair of Class 6A state championships as his last two teams won 30 straight games, while the 2007 squad was ranked No. 2 in the nation in the USA Today's national high school poll.

12/18 12:51:30 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners