Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

UC Davis sets 2013 schedule

Davis, CA (Sports Network) - The UC Davis football team will play five home games and pay a visit to the University of Nevada as part of its 2013 schedule.

The Aggies have 11 games, but athletic director Terry Turney said the schedule may expand to 12 contests. They will play their second season in the Big Sky Conference under a new head coach after Bob Biggs retired following 20 seasons.

"We'll once again face a challenging and exciting schedule," Tumey said. "The Big Sky features many of the country's top FCS teams while Nevada renews a rivarly that goes back nearly 100 years."

UC Davis will open the season at South Dakota on Aug. 31. Following a bye, the Aggies will go to Nevada on Sept. 14. It will be their first meeting since 1989, when the Aggies won, 24-17. The Wolf Pack hold a 27-21-3 lead in a series which began in 1915.

UC Davis' home opener will be against Portland State on Sept. 21, but the game will not count toward the Big Sky standings.

The Aggies will play four conference games at home against Idaho State (Sept. 28), Montana (Oct. 12) on Homecoming, Cal Poly (Nov. 2) and North Dakota (Nov. 16).

Their road conference games are against Southern Utah (Oct. 5), Northern Colorado (Oct. 19), Montana State (Oct. 26) and Sacramento State (Nov. 23) in the annual Causeway Classic.

UC Davis posted a 4-7 record, including 3-5 in the Big Sky, this season.


Aug. 31 at South Dakota

Sept. 14 at Nevada



Oct. 5 at Southern Utah*

Oct. 12 MONTANA* (Homecoming)

Oct. 19 at Northern Colorado*

Oct. 26 at Montana State*

Nov. 2 CAL POLY*


Nov. 23 at Sacramento State*

* - Big Sky game

12/14 05:31:09 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.