Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Eastern Kentucky to play 12 games in 2013

Richmond, KY (Sports Network) - The Eastern Kentucky University football team announced Wednesday a 2013 schedule that has 12 games for the first time in 10 years.

The Colonels will play six games at home, opening the season on Aug. 29 versus Northeast Conference member Robert Morris. It will be the first time since 1993 the Ohio Valley Conference squad will open at home on a Thursday night.

Eastern Kentucky will then make a short trip to face intra-state FBS member Louisville on Sept. 7. The Cardinals have won the last two meetings, including 23-13 in 2010.

Coastal Carolina, the 2012 Big South co-champion, will visit Roy Kidd Stadium on Sept. 14 for the second meeting between the two schools. EKU won the first matchup on Sept. 15 at Coastal Carolina, 35-17.

The following weekend, the Colonels head to former OVC rival Morehead State on Sept. 21. It will be the first time since 1993 they will play Morehead on the road; the previous four contests have been played at Eastern Kentucky.

EKU kicks off OVC action on Sept 28 at Eastern Illinois. The Colonels' other three OVC road contests will be at Southeast Missouri State (Oct. 26), Jacksonville State (Nov. 9) and Murray State (Nov. 23).

Four of the Colonels' six home contests are against OVC foes. On Oct. 5, Austin Peay will visit Roy Kidd Stadium, followed by a Homecoming game versus Tennessee Tech on Oct. 19, Tennessee State on Nov. 2 and UT Martin on Nov. 16.

EKU finished the 2012 season with an 8-3 record.

2013 Eastern Kentucky Football Schedule

Aug. 29, Robert Morris

Sept. 7, at Louisville

Sept. 14, Coastal Carolina

Sept. 21, at Morehead State

Sept. 28, at Eastern Illinois*

Oct. 5, Austin Peay*

Oct. 19, Tennessee Tech* (Homecoming)

Oct. 26, at Southeast Missouri State*

Nov. 2, Tennessee State*

Nov. 9, at Jacksonville State*

Nov. 16, UT Martin*

Nov. 23, at Murray State*

* - Ohio Valley Conference game

12/12 10:58:45 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.