Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Fordham's Murray wins Mitchell Award

New York, NY (Sports Network) - Fordham University senior kicker Patrick Murray was named as the 2012 recipient of the prestigious Fred Mitchell Award on Tuesday.

The Fred Mitchell Award is presented to a kicker in the FCS, Division II, Division III, NAIA or NJCAA who excels on the football field and in the community.

Murray, chosen from other 750 eligible kickers, will receive the award on Feb. 18 at the National Football Foundation Chicago Chapter Awards Ceremony.

The Mahwah, N.J., native was named on Monday to The Sports Network FCS All- America First Team as a place-kicker. He set the Patriot League record for field goals in a season while converting 25-of-30 attempts, including four of at least 50 yards with a long of 55 yards. He also was 30-of-31 on extra points, giving him 105 points, which is a single-season record for a Fordham kicker.

In addition, Murray averaged 46 yards on 52 punts.

Off the field, Murray has been active in community service projects with the football team, which includes volunteering for a program in which players read to elementary school children. He is active with the Part of the Solution program, working with teammates at local food shelters, and has volunteered for various food drives and toy drives at Fordham.

12/11 14:08:34 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.