Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Cal Poly visits two FBS foes, hosts six in 2013

San Luis Obispo, CA (Sports Network) - Cal Poly football will visit FBS members Fresno State and Colorado State and play a 12-game schedule for the first time as part of a 2013 schedule announced Thursday.

Cal Poly will kick off its season versus a familiar foe as it hosts Pioneer Football League member San Diego for the second straight year on Aug. 31.

Next, the Mustangs face a daunting task, heading to Fresno State on Sept. 7, followed by a trip to Colorado State on Sept. 14.

Fresno State has a 9-3 record this season and is set to play in the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl versus Southern Methodist on Dec. 24. Colorado State finished with a 4-8 record, including a loss versus FCS member North Dakota State on Sept. 8.

Following a bye week, Cal Poly finishes its non-conference slate with a unique matchup against Yale from the Ivy League on Oct. 5.

Coach Tim Walsh's squad begins its 2012 Big Sky Conference co-title defense at home on Oct. 12 versus Weber State. Its remaining home conference games are against Northern Arizona (Oct. 26), Sacramento State (Nov. 9) and Eastern Washington (Nov. 16) for Homecoming.

The team only has three away games over the last two months of the season, contests at Montana (Oct. 19), UC Davis (Nov. 2) and Northern Colorado (Nov. 23).

Overall, the Mustangs' 2013 schedule features six home games and six road contests.

Cal Poly posted a 9-3 record in 2012 for its ninth winning season in the last 10 years.

2013 Cal Poly Football Schedule

Aug. 31, San Diego

Sept. 7, at Fresno State

Sept. 14, at Colorado State

Sept. 28, at Portland State*

Oct. 5, Yale

Oct. 12, Weber State*

Oct. 19, at Montana*

Oct. 26, Northern Arizona*

Nov. 2, at UC Davis*

Nov. 9, Sacramento State*

Nov. 16, Eastern Washington* (Homecoming)

Nov. 23, at Northern Colorado*

* - Big Sky Conference game

12/06 14:56:04 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.