Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Georgia Southern, McKinnon overpower Central Arkansas

Statesboro, GA (Sports Network) - For Georgia Southern quarterback Jerick McKinnon, guiding the FCS' No. 1-ranked rushing offense isn't as easy as it looks.

But on Saturday, in his team's FCS second-round playoff matchup, he really did make it look easy.

McKinnon rushed for a career-high 316 yards and two touchdowns on 34 carries as fifth-seeded Georgia Southern posted a 24-16 victory over Central Arkansas.

He also threw for one touchdown.

The Eagles (9-3), from the Southern Conference, will travel to No. 4 seed Old Dominion (11-1) for a quarterfinal-round game next weekend. It will be a rematch of last season's second-round shootout in Statesboro, when the Eagles won, 55-48.

McKinnon was 17 rushing yards short of former Georgia Southern standout Adrian Peterson's school and FCS playoff records set in 1999 and just five yards short of the SoCon single-game rushing record set by Wofford's Eric Breitenstein earlier this season.

The Eagles rushed for 404 yards and controlled the game clock for 38 minutes.

Central Arkansas (9-3) got off to a slow start and trailed 24-9 at halftime. McKinnon accounted for all three of his touchdowns - 57- and 6-yard runs and his 32-yard pass to Darreion Robinson - and Alex Hanks kicked a 40-yard field goal to help Georgia Southern stretch its lead.

The Bears scored the only touchdown in the second half on Jackie Hinton's 19- yard run.

Central Arkansas quarterback Wynrick Smothers completed just 16-of-41 passes for 251 yards. However, he led the Bears with 79 rushing yards on 12 carries.

The Bears finished with 394 yards of offense, but converted just 3-of-12 third down attempts.

Georgia Southern B-back Dominique Swope rushed for 64 yards on 17 carries.

GSU is now 33-3 all-time at home in the playoffs.

12/01 19:01:30 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners
Breaking The Line
by Samuel G. Freedman
Samuel G. Freedman's "Breaking The Line" vividly recreates the world of black college football in the civil rights era with a gripping chronicle of the 1967 season for coach Eddie Robinson at Grambling State and Alonzo S. "Jake" Gaither at Florida A&M.