Special Events:
FCS Polls
All-America Teams
More FCS
FCS Extras
More Football

Eastern Washington knocks off Idaho

Moscow, ID (Sports Network) - Many will say it wasn't an upset when Eastern Washington beat Idaho, 20-3, in the season opener for both teams Thursday night.

EWU sure made it seem that way at the Kibbie Dome as it became the second FCS school to beat an FBS team on the night - following McNeese State's win at Middle Tennessee.

EWU (1-0), the 2010 FCS national champion, which slumped to 6-5 last season, outgained Idaho 412 yards to 237 and controlled the game after the Vandals took a 3-0 lead on Trey Farquhar's 27-yard field goal with 4:03 left in the first quarter.

Jimmy Pavel booted a 34-yard field goal to tie the game 3-3 late in the first quarter. The Eagles then went ahead for good on Kyle Padron's 3-yard touchdown pass to Jake Whitnell at the 12:29 mark of the second quarter, which made it 10-3.

Pavel's 23-yard field goal in the third quarter extended EWU's lead to 13-3 before a Quincy Forte 2-yard touchdown run early in the fourth quarter put the game away.

Padron, in his first start since transferring from SMU, completed 13-of-33 passes for 260 yards. Brandon Kaufman caught five of the passes for 148 yards.

Forte rushed for 66 yards on 17 carries and teammate Jordan Talley added another 63 yards on 18 carries.

Eastern Washington is a member of the Big Sky Conference. Idaho is a former member of the Big Sky.

08/31 00:27:38 ET

Walter Payton Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Jimmy Garoppolo Votes 2013 History
2012 Taylor Heinicke Votes 2012 Past
2011 Bo Levi Mitchell Votes 2011 Winners
Buck Buchanan Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Brad Daly Votes 2013 History
2012 Caleb Schreibeis Votes 2012 Past
2011 Matt Evans Votes 2011 Winners
Eddie Robinson Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Craig Bohl Votes 2013 History
2012 Craig Bohl Votes 2012 Past
2011 Rob Ambrose Votes 2011 Winners
Jerry Rice Award
Year Winner Votes Finalists Misc
2013 Cooper Kupp Votes 2013 History
2012 John Robertson Votes 2012 Past
2011 Terrance West Votes 2011 Winners